Skip to content
May 16, 2012 / Maleesha Kovnesky

…the End is just the Beginning is the End is just the Beginning is the End is…

It’s been so long since I have been here that my browser didn’t remember the URL, so poor me, I had to type the whole thing in.

Is anyone still listening?

I haven’t been here simply because I have been adhering to the Golden Rule.  The one about not saying anything, if you don’t have anything nice to say.  (We watch Bambi a lot here)

SO MUCH has happened over the past few months.  Too much for me to process at once, so most of my evenings of late have been spent laying lifelessly on my couch, staring at the ceiling, worrying about all my white people problems.  The days are longer now, and I have been introduced to B vitamins.  Right now if I smiled, you would see a row of B vitamins instead of teeth.  Couple the vitamins with the sun, I am remembering what it was like to be giddy.

Here are some Big and Little (bigenlittle) Events starting about March 1 until now.

– Company acquired by (M)assive corporation.  People freak out.  People stop freaking out (most of them, anyway) when it is realized that all the soda pop is now free

– Roommate undergoes (M)assive midlife changes, decides to move to small mountain town to begin a bakery service.  Give me and the kids the boot

– Find new place to live.  Move.  AGAIN. (M)assive rental fees occur.

– (M)assive immediate family disputes emerge, raring their ugly teeth and log-sized biceps.  These disputes are for the most part, over *shudder*.

– Son finally learns to tie his shoes.  Oh, the resistance!  He can memorize pages and pages of poetry and recite it back, but couldn’t figure out the shoe-tying thing.  Chalk it up to “we all have different skills and abilities.”

– I attend the Pikes Peak Writer’s Conference with great success.  My blow-by-blow account of getting screwed by United Airlines is a big hit on Facebook.  Most of all, I meet fun, fun, Katherine.  I get to spend approximately ten minutes with my Colorado friends before heading back to the airport where United Airlines admits “it misplaced my return ticket.”

– At work:  Soda pop is still free, but Kleenex, you have to pay for now.  Feels like giant slap in the face.

– Use all of forced stock cash-out to purchase a decent 1975 trailer for the farm, enabling me to have a place to sleep other than the floor.  (M)assive fees to prep, move, and hook electric and water are charged.  That’s ok, I am all prepared for poverty incase the job thing doesn’t work out.  The thing they take after Kleenex is your paycheck.

– Kids start T-ball.  Naturally their practices and games are staggered throughout the week.  I realize that six hours of each week will be dedicated to watching kids knock the ball into the crowd over and over.

– A friend from the Marines calls me up and practically hands me a new job.  I take it.  I give the Kleenex-stealing bastards people 8 days notice.  I leave on good terms, but eager to try a new opportunity.  I also get to work in stretchy pants most of the time.

There, now you are all up to speed.  I hope you are having a lovely Spring!  It feels like Florida here in Montana.  That’s messed up.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ignorethebucklesonmyjacket / May 28 2012 6:04 pm

    “I don’t know you anymore.” This quote was stolen from my wife three months after I started my current job and we NEVER saw each other.

  2. fawnahareo / May 22 2012 8:59 pm

    I was away for awhile and am drowning in the 258 blog posts piled up in my feed reader. But when I saw one of the posts was from your blog, I clicked right to it. Yay! Glad the job thing seems to be good and you get to sleep on something other than a floor and the awful family dispute thing is (knock wood) mostly over. Yay!

  3. Andrea Smith / May 19 2012 6:42 am

    Good luck on the new job, Maleesha! I hope the move, job change, et al are all part of a great new beginning!

  4. dknippling / May 16 2012 2:31 pm

    Holy COW, man.

  5. ianthealy / May 16 2012 1:41 pm

    Oh hai!

  6. dvrobin / May 16 2012 12:43 pm

    The cool thing about using an RSS reader is that whenever you get around to posting, I get to see it! I don’t have to remember to check in or anything. Internet makes me lazy, but I love it!

    Glad (for obviously selfish reasons) about the job move. Sounds like things have been hopping for you lately. Here’s to hoping that life settles down a bit for you soon. Of course, that seldom seems to happen, right? I’ve noticed that the last few years have involved a lot of change for us. And the next few are looking to stay that way.

    Good to see you posting again. Keep doing it!

  7. Katharine Coldiron / May 16 2012 12:40 pm

    Also, my randomized icon is not family-friendly.

  8. Katharine Coldiron / May 16 2012 12:40 pm

    (M)assively glad to see you posting again. 🙂

That's what she said!

