Skip to content
November 26, 2011 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Baby Fish Swimmin’ Around

I keep forgetting to tell you about the baby guppies.

 

 

My son has a 10 gallon aquarium in his room.  It’s got some fish in it.  Nothing fancy…some guppies (which I will elaborate on shortly), a few neon tetras, and…well now I think that is it at the moment due to some untimely fish deaths.  We settled on a fish tank instead of a snake, hamster, tarantula, or lizard.  He begged for one (or more) of those other creatures that some pass off as “pets” but I talked about how much more entertaining a fish tank would be.  I can’t even tell you how much I am NEVER going to have a tarantula in my house.  Nu-uh.  No way, no how.  I would take a snake before I took a giant spider…but I think both would give me the heebie-jeebies and I would never be able to sleep, in perpetual fear of the “pet” escaping his lair and crawling all up in my sheets at night.  Lordy, just writing that is going to give me nightmares.

So back to the fish tank.

I am having WAY more fun with the fish tank than my son is.  (Another sidenote: an extra benefit to having children is that you get to relive a lot of your childhood hobbies!) I dutifully change the water, feed them twice a day, and sit and watch them.  They are fascinating!

No one warned me about guppy sex though.  Those little bastards are ALWAYS doin’ it.  I watched for weeks as poor Yellow Mama Guppy got more marble-like.  One day she swam to the bottom and hid behind a plant…that is when I knew the wee guppies were coming soon.  Over the course of a couple of days, there were suddenly a dozen or more guppettes darting around the aquarium.  They seemed to know the best thing to do was to hide.  Apparently the brains of fish are even incapable of recognizing their babies as their babies.  Instead, they see the fry swimming about and think “Mmmm, a snack!”

It’s been a few weeks and now the fry are triple the size, and are freely swimming among the bigger fish.  They are still quite tiny, but they are beginning to show signs of their fish-individuality (one has a spotted tail now, another has an orange spot appearing on a fin).  I am starting to worry about what will happen as they come into guppy-adulthood…will I need to upsize the tank?  Get more square footage?  Hope for college scholarships?  I don’t know.

For now, I am content to sit in front of the tank and watch the algae bloom admire the simplicity and peace of tiny fish swimming among the brown gravel and replica of a treasure chest.  Even if my son is bored with the fish (I’m sure he wishes it was a tank full of lizards) I am still enthralled.  Black Mama Guppy and Silver Mama Guppy are looking pretty round this week.  I think we are getting another load of baby guppies soon.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Ifartedinurface / Aug 4 2012 9:36 pm

    I justgot a new 10 gallon tank because I wanted to try something besides goldfish in a 5 gallon tank I’m thinking of getting golden long fin zebra danios, a female Betta and a couple platies does this sound like a good combination?

  2. Bethany / Jun 9 2012 11:18 pm

    Ohhh, that’s to bad your son dousn’t like them. 😦 I’m planning on breeding guppies soon! I love this picture you posted. You must have an awesome camara. My sisters camara is one of a photographers and it still is blurry when you zoom in……. Can’t wait for baby guppies!!! 🙂 oh, unless you want a gazillion babies you have to seperate the baby’s once you can see the gender. Also you should probably get a bigger tank.

  3. S. Freitag-Pohl / Jan 1 2012 2:01 pm

    Sounds very much like my future…. My daughter (9) has got a fish tank for
    Xmas and I am enjoying it thoroughly! I hope we will have baby guppies too!

  4. David / Dec 10 2011 5:38 pm

    My dad used to keep fish tanks when I was a kid. There’s a story about me having poured my cup of milk into one of these tanks. I don’t remember … I do remember one of the tanks that had a whole big bunch of those red and blue neon tetras. They were hypnotizing to watch.

    I also remember that they had a nice fish tank in the cardiac unit of Boston Children’s Hospital, where my son had 2 heart surgeries. They told us that the tanks were maintained because it was well-known that watching tropical fish lowered blood pressure and stress levels. I believe that.

  5. Dave R / Nov 27 2011 12:41 pm

    I loved guppies when I was a kid. I even tried breeding fish, but didn’t have a lot of luck. I have read somewhere that guppies breed faster than rabbits.

    I also like platys and swordtails. Glad you’re enjoying the tank.

That's what she said!

