Skip to content
November 24, 2011 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Pie Induced Rambling

Today was a good day.  Turkey, friends, and family.  We have everything we need and many things that we want.

No shopping for me this year (Black Friday shopping).  I have done it before and I am over it.  Although sometimes, if you go with a friend, it feels more like a sport.  If you are one of the brave souls going shopping this evening/tomorrow morning, may all your lines be short!

The kids and I put up the Christmas tree at my mom’s house yesterday.  It is probably the earliest we have ever decorated.  I love the lights and the sparkles that come from a lighted, decorated Christmas tree.  If a family puts up a tree in late November and takes it down after Christmas, and they do it that way every year, that means we spend 1/12th of our lives in the presence of a fancy tree.  I don’t mind this fact at all.  If I could have a tree all year long I probably would.  I might change it up…throw some flags on the branches for the 4th, eggs for Easter, things like that.  But on the other hand, it would be really hard to dust.

Everyone is sleeping right now, and I am typing while A Very Gaga Thanksgiving is on in the background.  Ha!  It seems to be the only thing on that looks remotely interesting.  Back to the Future II is also on, but I have seen the Back to the Future trilogy so many times that I can recite them all and successfully argue their plotlines.

As I write this, I realize it may be one of my very worst (worstly) written pieces.  I am not even going to go back and proof it.  Lately, I am just happy to be posting at all.

I can’t even tell you how many times I stare at a blank page, trying to will out something.  It is as if my writing spark has gone away.  I have so many things to say…so many things to rant about, things to rave about, ideas that I want to share.  But when I get to the blank page, it suddenly seems overwhelming.  Or worse…it seems like it’s not worth it.  I don’t know how to snap out of this funk.

It is also the most depressing time of the year…daylight wise.  Sure, the holiday blahs will most definitely strike, but it’s getting dark by 4:30 now.  At 5 PM it feels like it’s 10 PM.  The lack of light is really getting to me.  If anyone has a spare SAD light sitting in their closet, you can go ahead and send it to me.  I will pay postage.  Maybe if I sit in front of a SAD light I will feel better.  Sometimes in the winter, back when I had extra funds, I would go to a tanning booth.  It was never to get a tan, it was to get a boost of UV rays.  I would come out of the blue-tinged booth feeling a little more peppy.

Oh, hold the phone!  Gaga is now being interviewed by Katie Couric.  I strongly dislike Katie.  I don’t know why.

Thinking of media icons has me sad about Andy Rooney, who we lost a short time ago.  I loved Andy Rooney.  He was such a crotchety old thing.  But he spoke his mind in a simple way and that is harder than it sounds.  I believe there is an art to simplicity and not many people can pull it off so magically.  Lots of folks think that speaking and writing and being has to be fancy, with flair, calligraphic.  But being simple, plain, and crystal clear in communicating is a true talent.  In my li’l old opinion anyway.  Nothing grates me more than reading a piece that is so embellished and overdone, that you can practically hear the author gloating about the size of their vocabulary.  Please.  If you have written something that alienates the vast majority of potential readers, what good is it?

Again, I believe simple is an art.  Dan Brown’s Da Vinci Code was simply but sloppy. Collins The Hunger Games (at least the first one) was simply written, but executed brilliantly.  The average reading ability of adults (in the US…not sure about other places) hovers somewhere around the eighth grade.  If you have a message, dumb it down.  Sad but true!

(Maybe that is why I am not going to proof this column? Ha!)

I am not musical.  I wish I was.  I love music, but can’t play an instrument.  I admire my son in his guitar-taking-classness.  He loves it.  He knows so much more than I do now.  It’s great.  I hope he sticks with it…but that will be his choice not mine.  I will gently encourage him to stick with things, unless one day he comes home and says that he’s really interested in studying demonology or something like that.

Oh no, Lady Gaga is weeping at something Couric just asked.  I don’t know what it was, as I am not paying attention.  I like Lady Gaga.  I know a lot of people do, but I think she is super talented.

They say we are getting a blizzard tomorrow.  Said blizzard is predicted to make a mess out of the highways.  I will be on the highways.  I hope that the weather guesses are incorrect.  Or if the guesses are correct, I hope the snow flies after I am safely back at home.  Over the river and through the woods to Grandmother’s house, we went.  Now we have to get back.

I hope you managed to read this far.  I am sorry if it was incredibly, stupefyingly boring.  These days it is all I can do to type a sentence.  I am probably depressed.  I am prone to clinical depression, and living in the Way North where the SAD lurks in the dark winter months does not help.  The sparkling Christmas tree in the corner of my eye helps, though.  I do love shiny things.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Peter Parkour / Nov 25 2011 5:07 pm

    I thought of David as soon as I read your title wondering if he would do a “Pi Induced Rambling” post. 😛 Ha!

  2. David / Nov 25 2011 5:03 pm

    Yeah, what Peter says. Simplicity is what it’s all about. The information is out there, waiting, more available to all than ever before in history, to whatever the desired level of detail. No need to get sucked into infinity.

    I liked this rambling and speedy post. I also like that you refuse to represent any entity, deity, or galaxy, other than yourself. Pie induced or whatever …

    The SAD light is a great idea. Really any extra light is helpful. Even if not full-spectrum UV containing ‘therapeutic’ blend. If I get into the greenhouse for an hour around noon on a sunny weekend that really helps. Same idea as the tanning booth. And in just a few weeks, the days start to get longer … Yeah I know that’s not so great when we’ve got all that winter to get through, but I find it mentally helpful.

    Have you seen the trailer for the movie of The Hunger Games? It’s due out in March 2012. Looks like it might be OK, though it’s hard to tell from a trailer. I liked The Golden Compass trilogy, but the movie was pretty awful.

  3. Peter Parkour / Nov 25 2011 10:43 am

    It’s not “dumbing down”, it’s simplifying to cater to a wider audience. Nothing wrong with that. 😉

    As far as getting back into writing, practice makes perfect, or at least better. It doesn’t have to be 1,000+ words to be a post. A couple of sentences or a paragraph will do at times. Just enough to get your point across and start a conversation. 🙂

That's what she said!

