Skip to content
September 24, 2011 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Nothing to see here

I started “blogging” in 2000, and since then, I don’t believe I have gone THIS LONG without posting something.  It’s almost as if I caught some terrible months-long aversion-to-writing sickness.  It must be a worldwide epidemic, because lots of the blogs that I follow seem to be suffering the same calamity.

It’s not that I don’t have things to write about; oh, nononono that’s not it at all.  In fact, maybe the problem is that I have too much to write about.  Funny things.  Tragic things.  Family dramas.  Friend dramas.  Things happened where I literally ached to come write down the details here, for this blog is my best therapeutic outlet.

Unfortunately, a lot of the things that I was compelled to blog about over the past summer are things that really don’t have any business being public.  There are a lot of stories that happened that make me wish I had a secret, snarky blog, written under a clever alias.  But I don’t, and if writing something down would cause more trouble than not, I won’t write it.  Even though it’s really tempting.

Blah blah blah; this post is really an exercise in getting back into the swing of things rather than an exercise in being interesting.    Hopefully the act of writing in my blog will remind myself how much I like to blog.

Hell, my audience has probably left the premises anyway.  Come back!  Come back!  I promise I will try to do better.

Here is a list (cause lists are easy) of things that happened this summer, with no detail.  If I write the events down at a high level, then maybe they will get out of my system and I will no longer feel compelled to write about them, and I can carry on.   I could have written posts and posts and posts on any of the below items, but instead I will just acknowledge that they happened here, and move forward with my writing life.

Things That Are/Were This Summer

  • Gramma constantly in the hospital, I may not get to visit her before The End
  • Kids got a new “stepmom”
  • New CSA partnership with a Hutterite colony
  • Lost a friend to death
  • Lost a friend for reasons I still don’t understand
  • Moved to a new place with a roommate
  • Visited Glacier Park and saw bears
  • Friend gave birth to a baby daughter; daughter has dangerous heart defect and will have surgery soon
  • Re-injured my back
  • Got the first crop of pears from my pear trees
  • Finally grew okra
  • Son’s feet now as big as my feet
  • Had a long-time-coming get together with my cousins and their kids
  • Lots of realizations about my family, realizations that piss me off but I can’t do anything about
  • Got a fish tank for my kids
  • Made new friends, but still miss the one(s) that I lost

 

 

 

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. David / Oct 10 2011 5:12 pm

    OKRA?!?

  2. John Troy / Oct 4 2011 5:20 pm

    Yay, you’re back!!! I’ve spent all summer losing friends and making new ones while navigating this damn divorce. I look at it as social hakuna matada 😀

    I still haven’t finished all 11 years of your blog, but I’m glad to see that you’re back at the keyboard. I’m ALMOST inspired to pick my blog back up, but the seasonal ennui has prevented me from doing it thus far…..this Fall, I swear I shall type again!

    Miss your rambles, miss your quirky insights…..MISS YOU!!!

  3. shmode / Sep 27 2011 8:49 am

    I’m still hanging in too! Glad you’re back, I’ll read the updates if you have ’em.

  4. Allison / Sep 25 2011 6:25 pm

    We’re still here…patiently waiting like baby bird’s in nest. Okay, maybe not so patiently at times. Thanks for the updates. I enjoy everything you write, whether it be in list or paragraph form.

    I’m sorry to hear about your friends lost for any reason, but especially for reasons you don’t understand.

  5. territerri / Sep 25 2011 2:48 pm

    Yours is the 2nd blog I’ve read this afternoon and the 2nd writer to have just returned from a long hiatus. Glad to see you back. I’ve managed to trudge along with my blog all along but like you, could easily have fallen out of the habit over the last few months.

    Sounds like you’ve had a rough summer. I’m sorry. Hang in there.

  6. Dave R / Sep 25 2011 9:37 am

    Hey, glad to see you getting back on the blog horse. Sorry to here about the lows from the summer, but there’s some good things in there as well. You know you can always call/write me if you need anything. Hope to see more on here soon. I’ll always subscribe to your blog, no matter how long between posts. 🙂

  7. xxx / Sep 24 2011 6:06 pm

    Yeah, that is indeed one hell of a list. I think about you often and hope that better things are happening than your kids getting a new “stepmom”. I will look forward to seeing more on this blog…if you can, if you want to, if you do. It is no stress.

  8. Peter Parkour / Sep 24 2011 10:46 am

    Wow, that’s one hell of a list, filled with highs and lows. I’m not sure what to say at this point, other than I’m glad you’ve found your way back to your blog. Congratulations on that. I happy for your highs and sorry about your lows. All part of life I guess, and it sounds like you’re doing a damn good job of living life. 🙂

That's what she said!

