Skip to content
February 17, 2011 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Dear Diary, 1988

I love nostalgia.  Perhaps I don’t love the word nostalgia itself, as it sounds very medical and itchy.  I have a bad case of the nostalgia.

I am swimming in nostalgia tonight, having consumed a lot of espresso while simultaneously scanning in excerpts from my fourth and fifth grade diaries!  While I am not a hoarder, I could never bear to throw away things like diaries, special magazine covers, participant ribbons from the fourth heat in the school district track meet, you know, important things.  Let me share some past thoughts with you…scarily, now over a couple of decades old.

January 1-2, 1988

Today dad took us sledding.  We had lots of fun.  We have to go back to school in 3 more days.  This was a boring 2 week vacation.  Nobody got to spend the night or even play.  I got a chemistry set for Christmas.  I also got this diary.  Today was New Year’s Day.  Yesterday we didn’t stay up.  Yesterday was December 31, 1987, now it’s Jan 1, 1988.  It looks like it’s goona be a loonng year!

/

Today was OK.  Mike got me in trouble.

July 9-10, 1988

During the Cold War, American ingenuity began in the musty garage, as elementary kids all over the country gathered to hammer things together that could be used to help the downing of Communism.  My friend “Kick” and I believed our MCC  (micro-circuital-connectical) radio was a portable and practical way to pick up enemy transmissions.  So what if it was made from a 2×4 scrap, nails, and wires stripped from a telephone?  Please disregard my sadness over not having a best friend; as it is the job of a young girl to be overly dramatic (pathetic).

Today Kick & me went swimming.  I learned how to swim.  I have a problem.  Carli has K.P. for a best buddie.  Christie has Jody.  I don’t have anyone.  Anyway, Me and Kick invented the Micro Circuital connectical radio in my dad’s garage (diagram).

/

I went swimming again.  I borrowed a girl’s goggles and dived.

February 2-3, 1989

I was shocked to find this entry on February 2 – it confirms that my sock issues have been present my entire life.  Born this way, if you will.  The more entries I read, the more I discovered that I have not changed much as far as basic personality traits go.

Darn, I very sick.  I actually forgot to put on my other sock.  Of course, I stay home.

/

Me and Mike are going to try to trick mom into getting a Nintendo game.  We’ll put in $29.60, but she’ll buy the rest.  POSTNOTE:  We got “World Games”

March 1-2, 1989

My friend Jennipher, who I have mentioned before here, moved away just before 5th grade started.  The devastation was terrible and we wrote many letters to each other speculating whether or not she would ever move back so we could attend junior high together.  Though it never happened, we are in touch again (thanks Facebook!).

September 3, 1989

Say no more.

Our relatives are here now

January 3-4, 1990

Dear Diary, I’m getting the flu.  I feel achy and tired.  I finished my roll of film today.  I also finished my speech.  It probably was real dumb.  So far I am fulfilling my 1st New years Resolution.  Mrs. O says the decade doesn’t start till 1991.  Stick it in your ear Mrs O!

/

Today I have a headache.  Mrs O gave us a bunch of lines to connect and stuff.  She’s a strange lady.  I helped pop popcorn during recesses.  It was fun.

I notice that my diary is a lot like my blog.  Once in a while there are some gems… but mostly it’s just general happenings, and I often go for long stretches without writing down anything at all.  There are a lot more entries to read, maybe I will post some more soon.  I have to find a way to blur out some names because I am Facebook friends with many of my old 5th and 6th grade crushes, and no way in HELL am I going to let them know I used to write about them with little heart scribbles around their names.

Proof that parts of us never grow up.

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Greg / Mar 6 2011 2:48 pm

    Was that MCC radio the same thing as a crystal radio?

    Nah…though I did have some experience in the crystal radio realm thanks to my dad, Kick and I were trying to build something entirely new and dangerous.

  2. David / Feb 25 2011 7:35 pm

    “Nostalgia” roughly translates to homesickness.

    I agree with Mr. Buckles, I love this post. Thanks for taking the trouble to scan these old pages and share your nostalgia with us. 🙂

    I agree with you that there are parts of us that never grow up. I like to call those parts our ‘eternal kernel’.

    I won a spelling bee in 5th grade too. It made me feel way too smart. It took years for my head to resume a normal size.

    I love the phrase eternal kernal. Brilliant. I will use it as if I invented it myself.

  3. megan / Feb 20 2011 11:29 pm

    “Medical and itchy” – I love it! You are so lucky that you hung onto this treasure. I’ve only kept sporadic diaries in my life, and not during the parts that would make for interesting reading in my adult life.

    A lot of the pages were extremely boring. Then I found my junior high journal. I ought to burn it.

  4. bluesuit12 / Feb 20 2011 9:57 pm

    This was so great! I love the line “stick it in your ear Mrs. O” haha I love the randomness of it and how you had nothing else to say about your relatives. Classic.

    haha! I can imagine the Jaws theme playing as I wrote OUR RELATIVES ARE HERE

  5. Ignorethebucklesonmyjacket / Feb 20 2011 8:56 pm

    I love this whole thing!!!!!! That would be my reaction today if my relatives came.

    hahah! Mine too…lots would remain unchanged.

  6. Carli / Feb 20 2011 8:46 pm

    Have no fear…you will always have me!

    I know that now. LOL. Aren’t we both so lucky 😀

  7. Allison / Feb 19 2011 7:54 pm

    This is diary (and now blog) awesomeness. I love the sock reference!

    I still have my diary from junior high and high school. I wonder what percentage of bloggers began as diary scribblers in their childhood?

    I’m sensing the percentage would be higher than the normal population. It would be awesome to get some Allison high school journal posts.

  8. Ken Glynn / Feb 18 2011 11:47 pm

    Who needs friends or antidepressants when there are free orange julius hot dogs and gold and green trophies to be had? Maleesha, I made it to the County Bee in Willow Creek in 1983 or 1984. I think such experiences can set people off on lifelong diary-blog obsessions trying to maintain these impossibly high levels of bliss. What a great idea… I have some pretty embarassing journals, I have about 20 of them that cover every year from 1988 to 1996. Maybe I will do some scanning and copy your awesome idea on facebook or something.

    Please do scan some! It would be fun to see what YOU were up to all those years ago. You seem to have kept quite the collection of journals. Let’s see a couple of embarrassing posts. It’s fun!

  9. Dave / Feb 18 2011 9:17 am

    “Stick it in your ear, Mrs. O” You haven’t changed much since 5th grade. I can totally hear your voice in that line.

    Scary isn’t it?

  10. scotott / Feb 18 2011 8:11 am

    Ha haaaaaaaaaaa! Micro Circuital Radio— Nice diagram!

  11. Pete Harrison / Feb 18 2011 4:49 am

    Aaaahhhhhhh ha ha ha ha ha ha!!! Good stuff!

    I’t exactly like my sister’s diary which I never read because it had a paperclip proof unpickable lock.

    Mine did too…thank goodness for those awesomely secure locks! HA

That's what she said!

