Skip to content
January 17, 2011 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Black Sock Dilemma

This morning I decided to wear my black shoes instead of boots.  In order to do this and blend in with the normals, I needed a pair of black socks. 

None of them match. None of them.

Everyone knows that washing machines eat socks, but I think it’s very unfortunate that mine chooses to eat just one from each pair.  Couldn’t it leave me just one pair of matching socks?  Two of them are close enough to get away with wearing, but it’s the principle of the thing.  I dug through all of my drawers, hoping to find one of the elusive “second socks” stuck to a T-shirt or a towel.  No such luck.  I went with the boots.  I am going to have to break down and get more socks, I guess. 

Maybe I could put these socks in the closet, and they would reproduce in a couple of weeks.  Everyone knows that hangers reproduce in closets, so why can’t socks?  It would be nice if I could get three or four of the same socks so that way I could always have a spare. 

Oh well.  If this was truly the biggest dilemma of my day, then I am a lucky girl.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Allison / Jan 19 2011 9:59 pm

    Hey, I think I might know where your socks are going. Have you checked inside your fitted sheets. I just found one of Abby’s MIA socks nestled within a fitted sheet when I was changing the sheets. Those fitted sheets are tricky– especially when I forget to use fabric softener!

    So funny that you write this. I did wash my sheets today, and when I pulled them out of the dryer, I checked. Sure enough there were two socks in there…both of them blue (but not matching). I wonder where they go after that. My mom texted me after this post though and said that she had the match to the polka-dot sock. So I now have matching polka-dot socks. Who knows for how long, though…

  2. David / Jan 18 2011 4:04 pm

    1. ‘…blend in with the normals’? BWAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAA
    2. Allison is half right. 🙂
    a. Sock drawer 1: white socks
    b. Sock drawer 2: black socks
    c. designer socks

  3. fawnahareo / Jan 18 2011 1:31 am

    Your hangers reproduce??? I guess mine are sterile because I keep running out (what with bulky winter jackets and all). Who do I complain to?

    I have a lonely sock basket. It’s always such a triumph when the mate comes calling for one of those poor lonely socks. But the crowd is getting bigger.

    Also, no time tonight, but remind me to tell you the story of the lonely sock contest on CBC radio, and how I ended up visiting a sock factory in CFB Trenton…

    I must hear these stories. And only my crappy hangers reproduce.

  4. georgene cachola / Jan 17 2011 9:31 pm

    I think I have the matching sock of at least one of those pictured. Now how did that happen?

    One of life’s true mysteries. Thanks for commenting!

  5. Allison / Jan 17 2011 9:10 pm

    This seems to be a recurring issue for you. Maybe you should only buy one kind of sock. This won’t solve your attrition dilemma, but at least you quickly re-pair them with other matching sock widows.

    RIP, Maleesha’s socks.

    I KNOW, right? I need to formulate a sock plan.

That's what she said!

