Skip to content
December 27, 2010 / Maleesha Kovnesky

End of year limbo funk

I came home to get some work done in a nice quiet space, only to find that they are re-roofing the condo so I am working with WHAMWHAMWHAMWHAM in the background.  I thought I would make a quick post here since practically the entire country is still on vacation or stuck in a snowstorm somewhere.

Christmas was great.  I stayed at my mom’s house for 8 days and we didn’t argue about anything.  A true Christmas miracle.  I watched movies and relaxed a lot.  We made tons of cookies of the ROYGBIV spectrum.  We cooked an embarrassingly large prime rib.

AJ got a computer from Santa.  Thank you Santa, now he will stop sneaking on to mine.  For the record, it took Santa four months and a lot of Craiglist surfing to put this computer together.  As long as AJ thinks it’s brand new, I am happy.


Macy opened her presents slowly, perfectly content with each new item.  She loved every new thing bestowed upon her, like the hat and gloves below, that she wore all day and refused to let anyone touch.  I guess to her, it was just a hat.

It snowed big fat fluffy flakes, and I made hot chocolate with snowman-shaped marshmallows for myself after everyone went to sleep.  I watched movies and read my favorite blogs and thought about all the Christmases past.

This week the kids are with their dad for their second week of Christmas and my house is clean and quiet.  I went back to work and it took most of the day to get back into “work mode”…that funky fog that one experiences after a nice lengthy vacation.  It’s a double fog too, as it overlaps with that end of year “Christmas is over but it’s not the New Year yet” phase that seems to be timeless and out of place.

I’m still debating on whether to do a 2010 recap or not.  I think I will.  It was a wildly adventurous year for everyone I know, so it seems like a good idea.  I mean, who wouldn’t want to read about my concussion and court custody battles?  Ha!  Maybe I could have a reality show.

In the meantime, thanks for stopping by.  I imagine that I have bored some of my long time readers, but please know I am making a strong attempt to hop back onto the blog-wagon.  I do admit there have been many days when it has felt less like a wagon and more like a freight train powering downhill as I try to leap onto the side and hold on for dear life.  Ok, maybe not that bad…but I have to practice the art of exaggeration for the blog.

After all, everyone has a similar story, but the good ones are just told in a more exciting way.

Brother Mike, my mom, Macy, AJ, me, dad

 

I love my crazy weird family.  I also love that I still get Christmases with my mom and dad, even though they’ve been Splitsville for well over a decade.  We are lucky people.

Previous Binary Trash Christmas Specials:

Lists, Gifts, and Nintendo on a Black and White TV

Christmas Letters pt 1

Christmas Letters pt 2

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Oregon Sunshine / Dec 29 2010 9:18 pm

    I love the picture of Macy wearing her hat/gloves! Too precious!

    Thanks. She gets her (lack of) fashion sense from her mom. It’s cute when you are two!

  2. David / Dec 28 2010 9:38 pm

    The Electrician and Shmode put it nicely. I love the little survival stories too. We all find inspiration in each others’ triumphs and tragedies. No exaggeration needed. It IS a reality show and way better than anything on TV. Sweet photos of the family. Your kids are adorable. I’ve never seen anyone happier with a Dell Dimension. 🙂

  3. shmode / Dec 28 2010 9:00 am

    Well, here’s to survival! Truthfully I love to hear the little stories of survival, even if it ain’t pretty.

  4. Ignorethebucklesonmyjacket / Dec 27 2010 5:43 pm

    Surviving a year like that can be victory enough….but those damned construction workers sure can throw a kink in your plans…but so can a leaky roof.

That's what she said!

