Skip to content
November 7, 2010 / Maleesha Kovnesky

The Dangers of Craft Stores

I have a concussion.  I shouldn’t really be on the computer as the bright light isn’t good for my headache, but I am addicted pretty hard to the Internet.  Of all the myriad ways I could have gotten a concussion, I don’t even have a good story.  No orphans were saved during the making of this concussion.  We didn’t even score a touchdown.

Two of my friends and I went to Michaels (the big craft store chain) to prepare for next weekend’s scrapbooking retreat.  I finished shopping first, so I went to the front of the store to wait for them.  A nice wooden bench called my name, so I sat down. 

I sat there for a while.  Finally one of the friends finished shopping, and came up to wait with me.  She didn’t sit down though.  We sat and waited for our friend to finish shopping.  I leaned my head against the window.

Soon I discovered that it wasn’t a window.  A man (why was a man shopping at Michaels?) exited the store and that is when I discovered that it was not a window after all – it was the stationary half of an automatic door.  I got clocked in the head by the sliding part.

I don’t really remember much after that.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Romi / May 18 2011 8:43 am

    I walked into a full-length window….

    Yeah, I know.

  2. Romi / May 9 2011 4:29 pm

    Umm, OUCH! I know this happened a while ago, but David referred me to this post after I had a little mishap 😉

    Oh dear. Yes this event left me with a Level 2 concussion. What happened to you?

  3. Allison / Nov 24 2010 12:49 pm

    Yeah. I’m staying the hell away from Michaels now (as though I needed any more reason to avoid craft stores.)

  4. jodi / Nov 23 2010 6:44 am

    It seems like there’s a lesson here somewhere — something about men and craft stores. I leave the punchline to you. I know you have it in you.

  5. David / Nov 8 2010 4:46 pm

    Holy crap! That sounds really painful. And here you are worrying about me whining over on my blog. I hope you feel better soon. You know the worrisome thing about concussions is being extra careful in the weeks following not to bump your head again. So look both ways maleesha!

  6. crisi-tunity / Nov 7 2010 4:20 pm

    Oh dear! Hope it’s better soon.

  7. Mike Goad / Nov 7 2010 12:35 pm

    I hope you’re doing better soon.

    Why was a man shopping in Michaels?

    Michaels and Hobby Lobby have craft supplies that men use to. Some men go to craft stores with their wives (I do) or to buy things for their wives (I’ve done that, too). There are men who knit and men who quilt. I don’t do either of those, but I do go with Karen to quilt shows and quilt stores and sometimes even encourage her when she’s hesitant to buy.

    Some guys even take care of the house. My daughter is the bread winner and her hubby is a house husband. Gender roles continue to blur.

  8. Oregon Sunshine / Nov 7 2010 9:59 am

    Ouch! Hope you heal soon!

That's what she said!

