Skip to content
October 19, 2010 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Imma do it myself

Macy broke her arm last week. She has this purple cast on, bending her left elbow in a manner that would be perfect for square dancing. The cast made her really mad for the first couple of days, at it prevents proper sippy-cup grasping and also makes climbing furniture challenging. Climbing furniture is her favorite pastime so I am sad about that.

What I am more sad…well, frustrated…about is getting her in her car seat. She happened to break her arm during this “LEMME DO IT” phase. Don’t try to help her up in the chair. Don’t try to help her put her shoes on, or brush her teeth. Above all, do NOT try to help her buckle herself into her carseat because MOMMY IMMA DO IT MYSELF.

Last night my mother took me and the kids out to dinner, which was awesome because it prevents me from having to 1) cook and 2) clean. Leaving the restaurant, Macy climbed into the carseat herself, always on the verge of falling out and hitting her head on the concrete (which is why I stand right behind her, flailing my hands to catch her if she falls) She got her butt in the seat and started the long, arduous task of buckling her five point harness around her. Added to this already annoying task is SHE HAS A BROKEN ARM.

I would gently push her arm under the shoulder strap STOP MOMMY IMMA DO IT.
I would softly ask, “Macy can I just help a little bit…” *slap to my hand* I SAID NO WAY.
This went on and on until finally I pointed out the window. “Look! A bird!”
Macy looked and I went for the buckle. Click click click. Done. She screamed and howled like I had taken away her chance to go to college (sixteen years from now).

By the time the carseat/seatbelt episode was complete, I was sweating from my forehead, missing a chunk of hair, and had high blood pressure. My mom shook her head. “I don’t even remember how I handled you when you got this way,” she said, trying to think back to when I was a two year old. “Maybe I just smacked you until you shut up.”

“Ha!” I laughed. It was probably true.

“Wait, nevermind,” she said. “You kids didn’t have seatbelts.”

With that, laughter.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Romi / Oct 26 2010 4:14 pm

    Haha, what a punchline, go Maleesha’s mom!!

    And gosh, how the tables turn…I am fully in the “do it for me!” mode of life in every which way possible πŸ˜‰

  2. David / Oct 25 2010 7:02 pm

    Whoah. What a kid! Nicely written post too. Maybe this experience will give Macy an opportunity to reflect on her, um, assertiveness?

  3. bluesuit12 / Oct 23 2010 10:22 am

    I remember going on long cross country car trips sitting in the front seat between my parents on the pull down are rest thing with my dad’s belt wrapped around me holding me in. Because that’s safe.

  4. shmode / Oct 20 2010 10:30 am

    Oh damn I’m not sure who I feel sorry for more, you or her. The independence bug annoys the crap outta me so I kibosh it when time is of the essence. Good luck with that one when she hits the teens! πŸ˜‰

  5. crisi-tunity / Oct 20 2010 5:20 am

    Wow, isn’t it way way early for her to be so independent? That’s kind of amazing. (Also, I feel for you as well. I’d be pretty miserable if my TWO-YEAR-OLD was insisting that she was ready to do everything herself.)

  6. fawn / Oct 19 2010 8:28 pm

    Oh man, I feel for you! Poor little Macy, but ohhh, poor Mama! I struggle with the independence thing at times. It’s so good for their development to do things themselves, but patience is not one of my biggest virtues. Hope that little bone heals up fast!

That's what she said!

