Skip to content
October 3, 2010 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Demented Poetry I

I decided to make better use of the library and I started by purging my hundreds and hundreds and hundreds of books.  I have hoarded books for years…I love books, and I could never bear to get rid of them.  “I’ll read them again,” I always told myself.  Truly though, there are only a few books I will re-read over and over and over.  Those I kept.  I also kept some books that I had forgotten I had bought, and never read.  Bozeman’s library is pretty awesome.  That and my condo is pretty small.  I decided it was time to Purge.

I donated vast quantities of books to the library.  It took a few car loads and my brother’s sizeable arms to assist.  I have a LOT more room in my house now, and I feel really good.

In the meantime, I found a few treasures during the purge.  I found a duo of “poems” that I wrote.  I am guessing (from my handwriting) that I would have been in junior high when I wrote it.

I do not remember writing about Happy the Fish, but I can certainly believe I came up with it.  Plus, I signed the paper.  Looking back, my poems are just a tad on the demented side, so I decided I would publish both here (for the first time, ever) for your reading pleasure.

The poems are left just as I had penned them with Bic on wide-ruled notebook paper, I did not clean them up or use better rhythm.

Happy the Fish (PART I)

Happy was a shiny carp
Who liked to sing and play the harp
He swam around his happy lake
And one day came the huge earthquake
The rocks and pebbles flew up high
Fish and turtles to the sky
They flew right out of Happy Lake
Oh my gosh for goodness sake!
The dying madly gasped for air
No other pain could quite compare
The lake was gone, the water spilled
All the fish were thought to be killed
Yet Happy nearly burst with pleasure
For he had taken a happy measure
All the water he swallowed down
Then spit it up with a happy frown
The lake was once again complete
Where little kids could dip their feet
Happy did a funny cheer
Then swam for another happy year
The Death of Happy (PART II)

A baited hook was all it took
A bit of lunch it was mistook
Happy gulped the fatal bite
Then struggled with the fisher’s fight
All of a sudden he was tossed in a pail
The smelled rather fishy and somewhat stale
Dead fish floated nearby
Happy began to sadly cry
The oxygen level did decrease
Happy began to did decease
Weakly flapping his silver fins
The club to his head did him in
His skin was sliced away, his head chopped
Into the pan he was rudely plopped
Sizzled in butter Happy did fry
This is the story of how Happy did die
4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. David / Oct 12 2010 6:24 pm

    I need to get rid of a lot of books too. I never read them again.

    Thanks for sharing your fishy poetry. What a weird little girl you must have been. I wish you’d been in my junior high school. 🙂

  2. shmode / Oct 4 2010 7:51 am

    Oh man, that was great to read! Brings back memories of my gooder English too.
    I did that purge a while back too, giving away books until I was left with the books I’d read over and over.

  3. crisi-tunity / Oct 4 2010 4:25 am

    Adorable and yet somehow macabre. Thanks for sharing, but you shouldn’t have shared such brilliant work for free…someone will surely plagiarize and win the Nobel for poetry.

  4. morethananelectrician / Oct 3 2010 7:55 pm

    “Oh my gosh for goodness sake!”

    “Happy began to did decease”

    I love the look into the Jr. High mind, but Carp tastes very bad. Happy would have been safe with me.

That's what she said!

