Skip to content
September 26, 2010 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Props to my Sunday Mornings

I feel like myself this morning!

This is a huge accomplishment many, many months in the making.  I think I discovered the cause.  I was out of my routine.  My Sunday morning routine consists of:

  • Waking up early
  • Making coffee
  • Turning on the TV and relishing in CBS Sunday Morning

That’s it.  That is all.  And I can’t even remember the last time I did this (until this very morning, and then I ran right up here to blog about it).  But it’s SO NICE.

***

The leaves are turning yellow and the ground is going to sleep.  You can hear the breath of the land exhaling and murmuring it’s time to rest.  I love the fall and it is my favorite time of the year.  (If you have a different opinion you should read my girl C’s notion on fall…it’s amazing and not a version I have ever thought about, but chilling!)  The vegetables are in the root cellar, I have enough garlic and onions to survive the apocalypse, and I am in love with Purple Viking potatoes.  We had the most amazing tomato crop this year.  They are still proliferating in the greenhouse, huge pink and red and yellow weights.  We were able to grow tomatoes that had not previously wanted to grow…I guess it was their time.  Porter seeds from 2007 which had failed to grow higher than your standard round toothpick shot up over our heads and produced gallons and gallons of heirloom goodness.  Our Brandywines were this year’s megacrop, which surprised me after reading an excerpt from “The $64 Tomato.”

This year I was accused of being a hippie for the first time in my life, and I vehemently DENIED the accusation and started arguing, until I noticed my Dansko clogs with dirty heels and noticed that I was leaning up against a Subaru.  Okay, maybe I have found my true calling.  I just want to point out that I support gun rights, hunting, and if you break into my house, I will lay you down to sleep.  So I am not sure if I truly qualify as a full blooded hippie, I think I am just embracing my Libertarian notions.

***

Had a FUN girls night on Friday.  Spent the first half of the evening surrounded by some of my favorite ladies.  Spent the second half running all over creation looking for one of them.  Luckily we found her and she had been roofied.  Ladies…just because you are NOT in college does not mean you can’t get roofied.  Please watch your beverages.  Nothing bad (other than the drugging itself) happened and all is well that ends well.  But it scared the everloving everlove out of me.  Sheesh.

***

God, I love this coffee and I love the fall.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jodi / Oct 13 2010 6:56 pm

    I love this post. And I miss your writing. Glad to catch up. Your Sunday routine sounds divine. Oh, and I just bought my first pair of Danskos. Maybe I’m a hippee, too. Or maybe not. I think you have to be cool to be a hippee. So yeah, maybe not.

  2. Taoist Biker / Sep 29 2010 6:08 am

    Cripes. I suppose somehow in my brain I thought roofies only existed in bad movies and 48 Hours specials. I just can’t wrap my mind around people actually DOING it.

    Sometimes I hate my gender!

  3. Oregon Sunshine / Sep 27 2010 10:25 am

    Since we relocated to Georgia from Oregon during the summer, my garden consisted of one of those raised black box upside-down hanging tomato doohickey things from Walmart. Worked like a charm for my peppers, but nothing would grow on top. As for my tomatoes, well, we ended up with a blight. Then everything growing on top ended up with said blight. I think it had to do with the watering system and my tomatoes always getting water all over the leaves. Also, tomatoes don’t like to grow upside down. They will try to grow upright, even if they have to snake out the sides to do so. I think I miss my farm in Oregon…

    Enjoy your tomatoes and fall weather. It’s still above 80F here in the South.

  4. shmode / Sep 26 2010 2:44 pm

    Oh *there* you are!
    – I love the fall too, the colours around here this past week have been amazing!
    – *snort* Maleesha’s a hippy. 😉
    – Holy smokes that was a close one. My mom couldn’t understand why women were walking into a Vegas bathroom with their drinks until I let her know about the nasty possibilities. She was horrified. Welcome to the new reality for women.

  5. David / Sep 26 2010 10:50 am

    I love this post maleesha. It’s a rare treat to read a post describing simple contentedness. Nice to hear about your crops too. Good tomato year for us too, same with onions and garlic.

    I like the way that “hippie-ness” has evolved over the years. And the way that a Marine computer geek farmer lady can deny and then see the truer aspects of the “calling”.

That's what she said!

