Skip to content
March 29, 2010 / Maleesha Kovnesky

So Sporadic, Sore, and Silly

I’ve been busy again, with the census and all.  I come here to my blog mostly to apologize to the interwebs.  Speaking of the census, no doubt you were also pissed off when you received a lovely printed letter from the government letting you know that “hey, you’ll be getting the actual census sometime in the near future, so watch for it.”  Thanks.  I needed that.  Did you also notice that the actual census was dumbed down so that one of those phone-robots could probably fill it out accurately?  I don’t remember what the census looked like the last time around, back at the turn of the century.  Was it also this dumb?  Either way I filled it out, and it took me all of sixty seconds.  I have done my civic duty, recovered, and now I can get back to blogging and life and stuff.

I have so many half-started posts that are just sitting there, not published.  I wonder if I am supposed to stop blogging.

Robin Williams is on Letterman right now.  He is ca-razy.  I don’t like the idea of Ritalin at all, but somehow I would be okay with giving Robin Williams some Ritalin. 

I could never drive a minivan.  It’s not just that I think they represent something I could never be, but that I would be terribly afraid of slamming my child’s head in the sliding door.  My son actually ASKED for a minivan recently, because he saw a commercial for one that had a table and TV in it.  He believes that having a vehicle like this would make his life so much cooler.  And for five year olds these days, it is all about the cooler.

My massive, massive gardening project has begun.  I love it of course, but I am very limited as to what I can do this year as far as lifting and hauling.  I confine myself to the planning and the tracking and the menial tasks, but I know that I will be mostly useless when it comes to digging in the dirt or any of the other zillion tasks that involve the bending of my lower back.  I have been keeping up with my physical therapy, but it just gets worse.  It hurts like a demon and there isn’t a damn thing I can do.  It’s really frustrating but I have conceded to letting others lift and carry things.  I make up for it by being nice and buying a lot of lunches.

A dear friend of mine got me hooked on HBO’s True Blood.  I have not been interested in vampires, ever.  But I love vampire stories now thanks to this series.  I have even seen Twilight and found it enjoyable in spite of the teenage hormones dripping from it.  I need a funny movie right now, though.  I find myself absolutely craving humor.  I lean more toward the Will Ferrell/Ben Stiller type of humor rather than the Woody Allen/Monty Python type.  So sue me. 

I have a lot of stuff to vent about too but I always get yelled at for venting in my blog.  If I could go back in time to 1996 I would make myself 100% anonymous.  Does anyone have a Hot Tub Time Machine I could borrow?  I could go back and make my web presence “Cindy X. Peacock” and soothe my bones all at the same time.

I am really happy right now.  Really happy.  More words on that in the future, I am sure.

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. The Girl from the Ghetto / May 23 2010 11:52 am

    Yes, I did notice how easy this census was. My first one was very detailed, my second less, and this one took me maybe one minute to fill out. Why arn’t people getting smarter, rather than dumber by day?

  2. Allison / Apr 11 2010 4:49 pm

    Maybe I need to give True Blood a chance. I’m not into vampire stuff either, but several friends have recommended it to me. I thought the Twilight movies were okay, but I felt a little dirty looking at a half-naked boy who could be my son if I’d started reproducing early. Anyhow, must check into True Blood.

    David (above) has me hooked on Hulu now…I wonder if it’s there.

  3. David / Apr 1 2010 6:52 pm

    Nothing wrong with unfinished posts. Glad you got this one published, and that you’re happy. As much as I wonder why I click PUBLISH, when I read posts like yours I’m inspired. Please don’t stop. No, I’m not sucking up. I really like the genuineness of your posts, as well as your clear and pleasant voice, which persists through your pain …

    So sorry about your back pain. I would be some PISSED if I couldn’t fork over my garden beds. But then if I had a friend with a CSA project and smile like yours, I’d be over there diggin in the sun … But since I’m a thousand miles away, I’ll just have you and some other garden-loving blog friends in my mind as I dig and pull weeds.

  4. morethananelectrician / Mar 30 2010 5:37 pm

    Happy is cool. As long as you are not “Robin Williams” kind of happy. Imagine HIM on cocaine?

  5. Romi / Mar 30 2010 12:47 pm

    omg…love that you are so happy right now, that’s wonderful news!

    Also, in terms of looking for any funny movies, I heard that Hot Tub Time Machine is actually really funny…I kinda wanna see it 😉

  6. Taoist Biker / Mar 30 2010 11:52 am

    Heheheh. I was bored this afternoon and had to look it up. Here’s the YouTube link!

  7. Taoist Biker / Mar 30 2010 7:07 am

    Venting and talking about the most inane stuff on earth is why blogging was invented. Anybody who says differently is a would-be professional critic who needs to get a life.

    I have no interest in Twilight. I was just sure from the commercials that True Blood would be ridiculously romanto-goth…until I was flipping channels and caught part of one episode. The one in which Jason overdoses on the V and has to go to the doctor. HEE! That was so hysterical I had to go back and watch it all. “It kinda looks like an eggplant!”

  8. Dave / Mar 30 2010 6:02 am

    Glad to see you back posting. Please don’t stop. I’m with the others: don’t let people yell at you for venting. Tell them to man up, for goodness’ sake.

    Have you seen Invention of Lying? Pretty funny and better than I expected.

  9. Jodi / Mar 30 2010 5:18 am

    I’m with the folks above. If someone yells at you on your blog – yell back. This is your space, man.

    Tell us more about the garden. I need to hear more about the garden.

  10. crisitunity / Mar 30 2010 4:11 am

    Yeah, who yells at you? Screw ’em, it’s your blog.

    If you’re looking for a funny movie with vampires, try Twilight: New Moon. There are places where I laughed aloud. If, conversely, you’re looking for a funny movie with zombies, try Shaun of the Dead. That’s one of my favorite comedies.

  11. Fawn / Mar 29 2010 10:55 pm

    Who yells at you? So happy that you’re happy, Maleesha!

That's what she said!

