Skip to content
December 27, 2009 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Winding down now…

What I learned from Avatar

Avatar…what a beautiful movie.  I didn’t spend a lot of time analyzing the perfectly structured and cliche plotline that a few critics warned about; the plotline didn’t need to be anything more than it was.  I’ve never seen a 3D movie before, and while I enjoyed every second, I left the theater with a dizzy vertigo and didn’t feel right again for about an hour.  There are a few things I have noted about the future (The movie is set in 2154, or something like that)

– Words I am surprised are still in use in 2154: “Daisy Cutter”

– Words I am not surprised are still in use in 2154: “Shit” , “Crap”

– Marines are particularly pissy in the future

– I could really use a flying dragon right about now

Don’t disappoint Kiki

Starbucks drive through in Butte, Montana.  The shop is relatively new…I think it just opened this year.  I notive that the baristas here are more bubbly and talkative than any other SBUX I have ever been to (and I’ve been to a lot!).  This moment took the cake.  I have to wonder if they have some weird management chain that is making the Butte store be more bubbly than others.  Have you been to a SBUX recently?  Are they acting over the top?  Here is what happened as I pulled up to the drive through…

(Voice): “Hi, this is Kiki, welcome to Starbucks!  Can I interest you in a creme brulee latte?  Foamy and delicious!  Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!”

Me:  “No, thanks.  I’d like a Venti triple latte, please.”

Kiki:  “Okay, a triple Venti latte….how about a fresh slice of buttery delicious pound cake to go with that?  Perhaps a wedge of our pumpkin spice bread?  DELISH!”

Me:  “No, I’ll just take the coffee.  Thank you though.”

Kiki:  “Awwwwwwwwwwwww.  You disappoint Kiki.”

Songs I’ve been listening to lately

Instead of the “crazy hammering mess” I usually prefer, I’ve slowed things down for December…

Fugitive – David Gray.  I’m not a huge DG fan but I do like a few of his tunes.  On this one there is a simple piano in the background, and that is what gets stuck in my head for hours and hours and days and days.

21 Guns – Green Day.  I can’t stand Green Day.  I’ve seen them in concert 3 times but I hate them.  I do like this little gem though. 

The Lightning Strike – Snow Patrol – I think I like this sixteen minute wonder due to the buildup.  Love it.

Fair – Remy Zero – I’ve loved this song ever since Garden State but for some reason I keep replaying in.  Must be something in the water.

Gifts

Dave and Bryan sent me organic coffee beans and a Krups grinder.  What a fantastic surprise, and could not have been more on the mark as to things that make me happy.  Denise sent me ORANGES!  I can’t wait until they get here.  I have been wanting a real orange something terrible.  Sharon sent me The Daring Book for Girls and wrote me a message inside.  I love books with handwritten message inside.  Carli sent me two neat wall decorations that were NOT shaped like tiki heads. 

2010

I have 2010 built up in my mind.  I just feel it.  Something tremendous awaits.

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Patriot Hustler / Jan 2 2010 1:34 pm

    Wow! You certainly have had quite the decade! It’s hard to believe we are 10 years into the 21st century. I am particularly looking forward to this new year. If you check out my website then you can see why for yourself. http://www.patriothustler.com

  2. Allison / Dec 31 2009 5:47 am

    I love books with handwritten messages too. Even if the book is bad, I’ll keep it if it has a note within…not that yours will be bad 🙂

    Regarding your pound cake and pumpkin bread decision, you disappoint Allison too.

  3. Pammy Girl / Dec 29 2009 10:48 am

    I picked up the wrong order at Starbucks one time… boiling hot black coffee rather than my frothy or fruity or something calorically enhanced. The barista got snippy and told me to be a better listener. Who knew my 3rd grade teacher retired to work at Starbucks?

  4. Carli / Dec 28 2009 7:49 pm

    FYI…I totally had to keep myself from buying you more Tiki head sculptures. I ran into a few during my shopping adventures and I had to consciously pull my hand away. They were razoo though…totally razoo! The metal sculptures were purchased at “Metal Works” in Leavenworth. That store is kick ass. You wouldn’t believe what the guy can make. I saw the animal wall hangings and thought they would look good with your decor. Who knows though…i’m definitely not the decorating guru. I still keep a can of chicken noodle soup displayed as a decoration in my house 🙂

  5. morethananelectrician / Dec 28 2009 3:17 pm

    I thought Marines were created “pissy.”

  6. David / Dec 27 2009 9:09 pm

    YOUR blog, I meant …

  7. David / Dec 27 2009 9:09 pm

    Yeah. Bring it on 2010.

    Thanks for all you added to 2009 with you blog Maleesha!

  8. Christine / Dec 27 2009 12:08 pm

    Blog reactions:

    I have no desire to see Avatar, but would like to see Alice in Wonderland in 3D when it comes out.

    I too hate Green Day.

    2010 has to be a good year. 2009 was ok and all, but 2010 is a wonderfully even year.

    Oh,one more…I feel a sudden urge to b@tchslap Kiki. 🙂

  9. Dave / Dec 27 2009 8:57 am

    I took the kids to see Avatar yesterday. Amazing movie. The 3D was incredible and the scenery was gorgeous.

    Glad you enjoyed the gifts. Might seem kinda funny, but it makes me happy to know that you appreciated them. Too many times gift giving is a chore. When someone is truly surprised and truly appreciative of a gift, that’s what it’s all about.

  10. maleesha / Dec 27 2009 8:19 am

    Hey Ian – yeah, yeah I figured you would call me on the Green Day thing. I said I HATE Green Day. I blame it on some melancholy end-of-year BS going on in my head. 😉

  11. Ian / Dec 27 2009 7:24 am

    Avatar was fantastic. James Cameron is the King of Hollywood again. Suck it, George Lucas.

    Kiki sounds like prime stalker material. “Don’t disappoint Kiki or she’ll hang around outside your house and staple rabbits to your front door while you’re away.”

    Ditto for my feelings on David Gray and Fugitive. 21 Guns, though…seriously? It’s a chord-by-chord ripoff of All The Young Dudes by Mott the Hoople or ELO’s Telephone Lines.

    Yay for gifts! I wish I’d had a better 2009 so I could have sent more gifts out to my distant, out-of-state friends.

    Here’s to a better 2010. Hope to see you in April!

That's what she said!

