Skip to content
December 5, 2009 / Maleesha Kovnesky

My Sharp Knives

For as much as I cook, it took me until 2009 (A.D.) to own a set of good knives.  I owe this pointy acquisition to Black Friday.  For years I have ignored the siren call of the housewares department, as the neatly boxed sets of three and four hundred dollar knives seemed ridiculous.  I was content to purchase and re-purchase cheapo knives from Target or Wally World whenever my last steak knife fell apart. 

For the past couple of years, my knives had been the marriage of two separate cheap-o sets that had moved into the same block.  Some were wooden handled, some were black plastic handled.  The wooden ones were better.  The ones with the black handles had a bad habit of breaking at the pressure point whenever I attempted to slice into a block of Tillamook Colby Jack.  Yet, I kept the floppy knives instead of throwing them away, and used “just the blade” to be frugal.

But a recent Thursday full of sales changed all that.  I walked by a set of knives that I had admired for years.  This set’s price never dipped below the $300 mark.  But on this day, this magical day, they were On Sale for $50.  I decided it was time.  The box of knives went into the cart and came home with me.  I felt guilty for hours, I felt guilty for such an unplanned purchase until…

I COOKED DINNER.

The knives cut a hard winter squash as if it was a stick of butter in the sun.  Meats were no match for the sharp steel.  The handles were comfortable…they fit in my hand as if to say thank you for finally bringing us home

I freakin’ love my knives. 

Did I mention they have a lifetime warranty?

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. AlliG / Jan 20 2010 10:33 pm

    Shun is my favorite , not cheap though, there’ some good reviews on knives and proper knife care here Stainless Steel Knife Set

  2. cherikooka / Dec 7 2009 3:34 pm

    I LOVE my Calphalon knives. I didn’t understand how great it was to have good knives until we bought these. Good knives make cooking fun. I especially love my Santoku. I like pulling it out of the block…it just feels dangerous.

  3. morethananelectrician / Dec 6 2009 3:29 pm

    After an incident with a VERY shark knife and my hand…I am not afraid of them. I would rather give up finely slices tomatoes and eat a bowl of tomato mash (?) than to hack of one of my fingers again. I would compare one of my fingers…or an arm…to your crisp winter squash.

    But…I am happy for you and your fine cutlery!

  4. Becky / Dec 6 2009 12:53 pm

    I didn’t realize the power of good knives until I met Matt…chefs are a little obsessed. LOL

  5. maleesha / Dec 6 2009 8:46 am

    A forty dollar Garlic Press! OMG What a concept. And 60% less effort! I bet its a lot better than my $5 press that leaves most of the garlic in the little holes.

  6. David / Dec 6 2009 8:10 am

    I envy your sharp new acquisition. Good for you buying yourself such a nice gift on Black Friday. What a deal!!

    The closest I’ve ever come to getting real good knives was a set my wife got at Marshalls, where they sell seconds and crap. The name on the knives is a good one, but someone at the factory screwed up the big chef knife by over-grinding it (which is why they were at Marshalls). So if you sight down the blade there’s a bad divot at the heel of the blade. Big problem. Also it’s not big enough for my hands. Some day. Enjoy your blades maleesha!

    I did just buy a really nice garlic press though. I was so dying to try it out that I put a clove of garlic into my oatmeal Friday morning. It was worth the $40.

  7. shmode / Dec 6 2009 7:35 am

    I’m so spoiled with my Cutcos that if I go to other people’s houses I pray they don’t serve steak. ;).

    Enjoy those lovely knives!

  8. fawnahareo / Dec 5 2009 10:11 pm

    Oh my, I’m so glad you’ve finally got some good knives. Mine are pretty good (Henkels) and I’d definitely never go back to the cheapo ones for more heavy-duty chopping can slicing and dicing. Good sharp knives are such a joy… and WAAAAAY safer! So glad you didn’t lose any fingers to runaway dull blades. (Right?)

That's what she said!

