Skip to content
November 27, 2009 / Maleesha Kovnesky

I Didn’t See Any Fights

Today was the second time in my life I ever Black Friday’d it.  I hate the term “black Friday.”  I get the reasoning behind the name, but it still reminds me of Black Plague.  I decided to go just to get out of the house kid free.  Time to myself.  I didn’t have to actually purchase anything.

Black Friday conjures up many feelings, the top three being:

  • “I hate consumerism in America.  I would never leave my house on Black Friday because I refuse to participate in rampant overindulgence on a nationwide scale.”
  • “I’m not leaving my house because I am afraid someone will beat me with a plastic Rock Band guitar.”
  • “The alarm is set…coffee is on…prepare the credit cards to MELT!”

I’ve decided that it doesn’t really matter what your or my opinion is…Black Friday is going to happen and chances are someone in a surburb on the East Coast is going to get trampled to death over a Bratz doll.  Whatever.  Black Friday is pretty tame here in Montana, at least from what I can see most people retain their sanity.  Here is what I did.

1.  Avoided Wal Mart (which is what I like to strive to do always).  Drove to the local clothing/department store that is famous for its sales.  Inside the store, moderately controlled chaos filled the room.  The “Home” department was a little out of control…there were not carts left so people had comforters, sheets, pillows, and towel sets stacked in their arms, preventing them from seeing where they were going. That was kind of funny.

2.  As per usual, there were lots of questions about prices.  Things weren’t labeled, and things were mis-racked.  The $40 purses were next to the $10 purses, and this was the cause of much dissent.  The little old ladies in line took their time and much more as they haggled and asked questions, sorted coupons (oh, the coupons!  The rules!  Coupons can’t be used with doorbusters, but doorbusters are different from ‘incredible value’ items, etc.  Basically since everything was on sale, coupons couldn’t be used at all because the fact an item was on sale made it ineligible for couponability).

3.  After finding a few small items that I couldn’t resist, I left the store and headed for Starbucks.  I went inside the shop and got a nice coffee.  I talked to some folks in line, that was pretty fun.  The baristas were really behind and stressed and because of that, I got a coupon for a free drink later.  I didn’t really need one, but they were being really cool about the delay.  So far, so good.

4.  Drove by another store, but the parking lot looked like a mega-dealership, so I went to visit my mom at the restaurant, where she bought me breakfast.  Score! 

5.  Decided to brave a few more stores.  Tried on lots of shoes.  Did not purchase any shoes.  Instead, went next door and bought 100 pounds of scratch grains for my chickens.  Chickens need love too.

6.  Went to Staples.  Staples was the same ol’ same ol’, but they had a cool “assemble your own” area where you could fill a bin with fun paper clips, push pins, and other fun office things.  A bulk office supply option!  I also found a good deal on a stack of DVD-Rs. 

7.  Went to JoAnn Fabrics.  It was here that I decided I needed to make a quilt.  So I got some quilting supplies at 5o% off.  Yes!  Now I just have to learn to sew a straight line! 

All I want to do lately is write, sew, paint, create.  I feel that a shell that has been placed over my head for some time is finally wearing off.  I need to take back my creativity, as I let it get away and I have been suffering without it.  I’m starting with my quilt project.

I was hoping to be able to report at least one fight between grandmas at WalMart, but it sounds as if most people have wisened up over the last year.  No one really cares if you get the last Blu-Ray.  No one really cares if they have to pass on the latest toy for their kids.  Which is great, because those of you with kids know that when a kid opens a Christmas present, they tear open the package, remove the toy inside, toss the toy into the corner, and play with the simply amazing box that it came in.  If we parents had any brains at all, we would wrap the following into a box and give it to our kids:

  • String
  • Rubber Bands
  • Paper Towel rolls (empty)
  • Aluminum Foil
  • Sharpies
  • Duct Tape
  • Scissors
  • A cape

Presto – the perfect gift, and no cart jousting required! 

 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. David / Nov 30 2009 11:27 am

    That was some mighty brave shopping for an anticonsumerist. Congratulations and thanks for writing about it. The only Black Friday I ever did was about 20 years ago when I bought my wife her blue Kitchen Aid mixer for $179. It was the best gift ever (she still says). I pretty much completely ignore xmas, but try not to be too Scroogey about it.

  2. Mike / Nov 29 2009 3:19 pm

    We didn’t do Black Friday.

    We went camping instead. Lows in the lower 40s, highs in the low 60s.

    Whenever we go to JoAnn Fabrics, I generally sit in the car. Most fabric stores I’ll go into with Karen, but for some reason, the chain fabric stores have absolutely no appeal to me.

    Karen is a quilter and just finished a multi-year project she calls “My Insanity.”

  3. morethananelectrician / Nov 28 2009 11:00 am

    Everyone knows that a RockBand guitar would break at the apex of the back-swing. Be afraid of the Guitar Hero-wielding soccer moms…they are fierce when cornered.

That's what she said!

