Skip to content
September 3, 2009 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Fast Cars

I got pulled over for speeding a couple of days ago.  This was not the first time this summer.  It was the third.  Twice on the highway, and this last time not too far from my house.  The amount I have been driving this summer is ridiculous.  Sometime later this fall I will explain all of that.  However, most of that driving has been on the highway and apparently it’s hard to get out of 80 MPH mode back on the road.  No, I was NOT going 80 MPH through the neighborhood…but we live near this golf course where the speed goes from 60 to 35, directly.  Cops love sitting out near this spot because it provides them with easy tickets, because EVERYONE SPEEDS HERE. 

That’s not why I am writing this though.  I am not complaining about being pulled over.  I was speeding, so I should have been pulled over. 

I am writing because I had to tell you that when I opened the glove compartment  to get my registration out for the cop, my other two tickets fell out onto my front seat, all sitcom-like.  CITATION was very bold and visible on the paperwork.  Not the impression I needed to make here. 

But in an early Christmas miracle, I got a warning this time.  I am now using the money I saved for a moped with a speed restriction because have a lead foot.

***

Speaking of vehicles, AJ is obsessed with them.  Somewhere, somehow he picked up several types of cars.  He can pick out all of the manufacturers logos and he is certain to point out dealerships whenever we drive by them.  Whenever he sees a Nissan, he places his hand on his forehead and says, “Nissan…those are always in the shop!”  (This is because ours is always in the shop)

He was on a Dodge kick the other day.  For fifteen minutes straight, he raved about Dodges.  I was trying to concentrate on something else, but all I heard was “When I grow up, I want a Dodge Ram.  Or maybe a Dodge Charger.  Dodge Chargers are super fast.  No, really mom, they are super fast, those Dodge Chargers.  Or wait…Dodge Challengers…that’s right.  Dodge Challengers.  But the Dodge Rams have a Hemi.  Hemi’s mean they are Dodge tough.  Dodges are tough AND fast.”

Dodge, Dodge, Dodge. 

Finally I interrupted.  “AJ!  Shut UP about Dodges.  I DO NOT WANT TO TALK ABOUT DODGES ANY MORE!!!’

He said, “Oh, okay.  Do you wanna talk about Fords?”

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Christine / Sep 21 2009 6:38 pm

    LOL, AJ cracks me up. 😆

  2. Pammy / Sep 10 2009 7:50 am

    I received a ticket driving through Phoenix. While I know what I did was wrong, did it have to cost me $200? Was the red light I ran when making a left hand turn in LA really so horrible that they had to charge me $398? I hit a Porsche pulling out of my driveway. Got 3 parking tickets. And speeding in DC… yet another $100. I’ve been police-record free for 18 years and then in a just a short period I’ve had all these infractions. I’m lucky to still have insurance.

    But I’ve NEVER had the tickets tumble out of the glove box in front of a cop. NEVER.

  3. smalltownsmalltimes / Sep 8 2009 6:45 am

    I suggest talking about Hondas. They might be around a bit longer.

  4. morethananelectrician / Sep 5 2009 2:54 pm

    I love the tickets coming out of the glovebox…didn’t you chuckle when you saw them? Just wondering how your brain work in the heat of battle…

  5. megan / Sep 5 2009 9:15 am

    That’s exactly how I got pulled over two summers ago – coming out of a 70MPH zone on the turnpike into a 30MPH neighborhood is very difficult to do. I was on my way to a concert. At least now I can say that I saw the Police twice that day.

    Ba-doom-ching!

    Seriously, though – true story.

  6. Ian / Sep 3 2009 11:32 am

    This made me smile. Thanks for sharing, Leadfoot McGhee.

  7. Taoist Biker / Sep 3 2009 6:20 am

    (The kid talking about cars and cars and more cars, that is. Not so much the speeding-ticket-sitcom bit. Although that’s more due to luck than anything else.)

  8. Taoist Biker / Sep 3 2009 6:20 am

    Oh ho ho ho, sister, have I ever been THERE. 😀

That's what she said!

