Skip to content
May 24, 2009 / Maleesha Kovnesky

In which I add a puppy.

I got a puppy because I don’t have enough to do this summer.

HA!  I got a puppy because it’s a good workin’ type farm dog, and because every little boy needs a puppy.  The funny thing is, the puppy loves me.  Why is this funny?  I have never been a traditional dog person.  I love animals, but I’m not the person who brings their dog everywhere.  I can’t stand barking in the wee hours of the morning, and stepping in fly-covered poo is not my idea of a fun way to hang in the park.  But like children, it’s different when they are yours.  I went to meet this puppy and he loves me.  He sat down in my lap and refused to leave.  He followed me everywhere and listened (and obeyed!) everything I said.  He then proceeded to chew up a toy and look at me as if to say, “thanks.”  I must have needed the dog-hug and now I am smitten with the cuteness. 

sparkit

In this photo, he is saying “Okay, please be done with the photo now so I can come back and sit in your lap.”

I needed a puppy today because I am sad.  I’m having a rough year.  I feel like a jerk saying that, because I’m not a starvin’ Marvin and I have a job and there are lots of folks with much bigger problems.  But I am generally sad lately.  So a puppy really helped, which is fantastic because slamming my head against the wall was starting to become annoying. 

Since I don’t feel like listing my sorry excuses for problems here, I will only note a small but funny problem.  My car’s warranty expired on Thursday.  The odometer rolled quietly past 80000 miles.  The next day I pulled into a gas station to fill up.  To open the fuel door, I have to reach down under the seat and pop a lever.  I reached down, but there was nothing to pop.  I investigated.  The lever pull had fallen off.  I can still pop the tank, but it’s not very easy.  I can’t put the lever pull back on.  The pull does not appear broken at all.  From what I can tell, there is no good reason that the lever pull had fallen off other than the car’s warranty had expired.  I can feel the cloudy aura of the Expiration Date Gods as they laugh at me.  “Here’s a little taste of what’s to come,” they are saying.

And here is a photo that I took in the garden last week with some added text.

spring

Sarcasm always makes me feel better.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teeni / Jun 3 2009 9:10 pm

    Oh, the puppy is freaking adorable! What a pretty and rich fur color. Is that your daughter? What a cutie she is! This post is just cute overload! 🙂

  2. smalltownsmalltimes / May 27 2009 6:20 pm

    The dog is cute but the daughter is beyond cute. Her eyes are gorgeous.

    I’m sorry you’ve been sad. Do you have allergies? I have this theory that people get a little sad in the spring if they’re prone to alleriges. I can it my funky season.

    Anyway, I’m glad the doting puppy is cheering you up.

  3. carli / May 26 2009 9:35 pm

    congratulations…..welcome to the dark side of dog ownership…you’ll never go back 🙂

  4. Christine / May 25 2009 4:35 pm

    I can’t believe how big your kiddo is already!

  5. crisitunity / May 25 2009 3:26 am

    He is indeed very cute. The star for modesty cracks me up. Your daughter is cute too, although she looks a little worried. Maybe she thought you were going to steal her soul when you snapped that picture.

  6. fawnahareo / May 24 2009 11:22 pm

    Eeee, he’s so cute! And SHE’s so cute! Aahhh, the cuteness!

    I once pulled the handle off of my car’s hood release lever. Of course, I was trying to pop the hood at -40 to investigate the solid-as-a-block-of-ice engine. Things DO tend to get a wee bit brittle at -40.

    But I can’t even imagine that kind of temperature right now, with this grand weather we’re having!

    Did I mention how much I enjoyed the cuteness?

That's what she said!

