Skip to content
April 10, 2009 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Oops.

I lost my weddin’ ring, not even on purpose!

Today during my lunch break I drove out to Gallatin Gateway to pick up some cinder blocks for a raised garden.  I bought them off Craigslist — 15 blocks and a 50 foot roll of fencing thrown in.  Anyway I followed the very specific directions sent to me, and when I turned off the beaten path and entered a dark forest, I was certain that I was being led to my murder and not to some cheap cinder blocks.  But then a clearing opened up, and a gorgeous log home rose in the distance.  Oh, except that wasn’t the home…that ended up being a barn.  The home was further up the road. 

So I got there and met “Frank,” possesor of fencing and blocks, seller of materials.  Frank is an older dude with an earring, very thing and fit, and obviously richer than God.  Or so I thought. 

“Great place you got here, Frank,” I said, wondering if homes in heaven look like this. 

“Yeah, it was my dream,” he said. 

“Was?”

“We’re getting divorced and we have to sell it.”

Oh.  “Sorry to hear that,” I said.

“Well back your car up the road to that shed,” Frank said.  “The blocks are up there.”

So I backed up the road to the “shed” which was made of huge logs like everything else.  Inside was supplies for horses, gardening, and a myriad of other outdoor things.  I popped the trunk for Frank.  He loaded in the first two blocks.

“Are you going to help out?” he asked. 

I looked for my boots, and of course I only had ONE boot in the car (NOT good for Montana people.  Always bring your winter clothes with you!) and no gloves either.  Damn.  I didn’t want to be wimpy, as I was getting a super good deal on this stuff.  So I jumped into the snowbank, clogs and all, and started to haul blocks. 

Finally the last cinder block was loaded.  I bent down and grabbed a handful of snow to wash my muddy hands.  The gritty spring snow scraped the dirt off like the best soap in the world, but it also constricted blood flow and made my hands slightly “thinner.”  So when I shook the snow off, my weddin’ ring went flying into the snow. 

Frank was amused.  He pretended to care and looked down into the snow where I was standing.  It didn’t take long to determine that the snow was of the sort that would have swallowed up the ring, not even leaving a telltale pit behind.

“Guess you’ll have to wait until it melts,” he said. 

I eyed the multitude of crows in the nearby trees.  “I sure hope one of those birds doesn’t find it first,” I said.

Frank chuckled.  He took my phone number.  “I don’t have to be out of the house until June or July,” he said.  “Snow’ll be melted before then.”

“Ok,” I said. 

What can you do?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Christine / Apr 11 2009 5:08 pm

    Well crap eh!

  2. Stacey / Apr 11 2009 5:37 am

    Wow, you took that well. I’m pretty sure I would have had a breakdown.

  3. morethananelectrician / Apr 11 2009 5:17 am

    Ouch. You could have tried crying. But if this guy was in the middle of a divorce, he may have been immune from those powers.

    Best of luck.

  4. crisitunity / Apr 11 2009 4:28 am

    !!

    Get out there with a hairdryer!

That's what she said!

