Skip to content
April 9, 2009 / Maleesha Kovnesky

On Spell Check

Spell check is awesome when you are typing up a document with a lot of the I’m Smart words; words like accoutrement, accommodations and effervescent…fluorescent and pharmaceutical…recommendation and ruminesce. 

I have a Blackberry.  Two, actually…a work version and a pink, fun, Scrabble in the waiting room version.  I am hooked on the Crackberry…hooked I tell you.  I love that thing.  Anyway, the version I have for my personal life does not have the full QWERTY keyboard, and I am still getting used to typing on it.  The good news is that it’s a “smart” phone and when you type, it guesses what you are going to say.  After you use a phrase several times, it “learns” that this is how you talk and soon it takes mere seconds to spell entire paragraphs without even completing a word.  After the words are down, it spell checks them for you.

So today someone texted me “How is life in Montana?”  And when I wrote back, I said, “Bozeman is great.”

Except when it spell checked, it changed “Bozeman” to “Norman.”  So I sent back “Norman is great.” 

Sigh.

I’ve been really busy.  That’s why I am not on here.  I’m working like a dog.  LIKE A DOG.  Except with less wet dog smell.

I have lots of chicken, ducky and geese photos to share.  I am surrounded by plants and green.  I am making a subtle but sure transformation from programmer to planter.  I will juggle these for a long time.  I love my job, but growing things makes me feel alive.  Simple, really…but the accomplishment of helping a tiny seed become a squash is more fulfilling than any other job I have had.  Weird, eh? 

More soon…

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teeni / Apr 23 2009 8:28 am

    LMAO – Norman is great. Glad to hear it! Heehee. I lust for a crackberry but have no real need to fork out the dough for one. So I will live vicariously through you and Norman. 😉 As for the seeds growing into squashes and it being satisfying, I imagine that is why some people have more than one child. Do you feel that way at all about motherhood?

  2. morethananelectrician / Apr 10 2009 7:24 pm

    I too, am addicted to my Crackberry. The smart type is something that I really like, but I have to be really careful to reread everything that I send out that is important.

  3. Christine / Apr 10 2009 5:49 pm

    LOL, have you ever worked like a wet dog?

  4. Carli / Apr 9 2009 8:02 pm

    when are you giving us more of your Marine saga??

That's what she said!

