Skip to content
March 24, 2009 / Maleesha Kovnesky

A Gem of a Phrase

My son comes home with all kinds of new knowledge.  Once in a while he even teaches me a thing or two.  I have a feeling that this trend will only continue as my brainpower depreciates and his app…appr…gets more.  I have no idea who is going to help him with his math homework, because at this rate I will be drooling and wearing Depends.

Anyway, we were driving home the other day and he was staring at a rock that he had found out near our gardens.  He turned it in his hands, studying it like a rare treasure.  He held it to the light so it would sparkle in the sun.  It’s a white rock, full of tiny pockets lined with purple quartz crystals.  It’s a particularly cool rock.  He declared proudly:

“Mom, this rock is full of amethysts!”

I was impressed with his new knowledge.  “Did you learn about that in school?”

“Yes,” he said.  “Red rocks are called rubies.”

“That’s right,” I said.  “And what are green rocks called?”

“Emeralds,” he said, shaking his head, in a gosh mom don’t you know anything, you big retard kind of way.

I was still so impressed with his knowledge of the word amethyst.  So I asked him again.  “And what did you say the purple rocks are?”

“Amethysts,” he said.  Then just to impress me more, he said:

“And I know what pink rocks are too,” he said with a knowing smile. 

“Pink rocks are called feminists.”

I nearly drove off the road.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. smalltownsmalltimes / Mar 30 2009 7:06 am

    OMG. I’m glad you wrote that one down.

  2. Fawn / Mar 29 2009 1:13 pm

    OMG, that’s too good. Did he pick that up from the teacher, too? LOL

  3. Christine / Mar 27 2009 10:27 am

    LOL, he’s so matter of fact. ☺

  4. Stacey / Mar 26 2009 3:33 pm

    I love kids.

  5. Carli / Mar 25 2009 6:38 pm

    AJ is so totally great. I thought I’d pass this along. HT and I were talking over the weekend about how well behaved children are just a joy to be around in comparison to little heathens. Then the topic of AJ came up and HT said…verbatem…”I love that kid!” I just thought you might want to know 🙂 You’ve been a great mom…who would have thunk?

    Aww, thanks Hersh. That is nice to hear. I love hanging out with AJ. It turns out kids are WAY more interesting than most adults. I highly recommend them.

  6. David / Mar 25 2009 3:47 am

    I bet your boy will look up to you even with the drooling and the being a big retard and all. It sounds like you do a good job listening to him. As a child I enjoyed the rocks and minerals myself. 🙂

    🙂

  7. Romi / Mar 24 2009 7:25 pm

    Hahahaha….I did not expect that closing line! So hilarious!! 🙂 And I did not expect your line about drooling and wearing Depends…lmao 😉

    Sigh…it will happen to the best of us

That's what she said!

