Skip to content
March 2, 2009 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Delinquent Interview

Thanks a kazillion to Glass-O-Water who provided me with this get-out-of-blog-funk interview.  Sadly I am delinquent in posting my responses to it.  But here it is.  And I know I owe a few of you an interview of my own!  These are goals, goals, goals to accomplish.  It is now March though and I can feel the fog lifting, especially knowing that today will be a balmy 52 degrees!  Sorry for those of you on the East Coast who are getting snow, especially for those of you who have to commute.  Watch out for nutzoids in Hummers.

1. You say you dread using the phone. What is it about this 20th century form of communication that you don’t like?

I don’t remember when I started coming down with phone-phobia.  There is no logical reason for it.  I just hate answering the phone.  I dread calls from people who “just want to catch up.”  I have no qualms about meeting people in person, but I just hate talking on the phone.  I get a little naseous every time the phone rings.  This only goes for my home phone, not my cell phone.  For whatever reason, I like my cell phone.  I suspect this has to do with my need to multitask.  If I am on my cell, I can still accomplish other tasks.  My home phone ties me down a bit.

2. I see we share a passion for spicy foods. Besides the Thai salad you mentioned, what are you favorite spicy foods and what about that rush of heat do you like?

I love spicy food.  Once though, I ate a Thai pepper that I am pretty sure was meant for garnish, and not meant to be consumed.  I also once got habanero juice in my eye.  These were not good experiences.  I figure it must be the endorphin rush because there is no good reason to love eating food that makes your fingernails sweat.
 
3. I know that Celine Dion inspires fits of unfettered rage, as it should, but what I would like to know is what music soothes your nerves and calms your spirit? What music induces a state of blissfull contentment?

Like most people, I suspect that it depends on what my mood is.  Enigma’s third album usually does the trick when I want to go into a state of Zen.  If I am on a road trip, I like Tom Petty, Black Crowes, Johnny Cash, and other music that I can sing to.  If I am feeling unusually political I like Radiohead and U2.  For nostalgia, I like to listen to BNL’s The Old Apartment or Land of Confusion  (Genesis version) or anything from Dire Straits five million times in a row.
 
4. In one of your MeMes, you said: “What I miss most about the eighties: I didn’t know then what I know now.”
What do you wish you knew then that you know now and how would that have changed things?

Ahh, I said that I miss the fact that I didn’t know then what I know now…this is because my formative years were in the eighties and I was blissfully unaware of most things, like how some countries hate each other, how people happily dump poison into the rivers and air, and how so many people in the world live in misery.
 
5. I’ve recently started a coin collection after finding an old stash of coins during the last move. What advice would you have for someone starting out as a serious collector?

Always check your change before using it.  Avoid coin stores without good reputations, and avoid eBay altogether.  Avoid telling people you are a coin collector unless they too, collect coins.  Never clean coins to make them look new. 
1. Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.”
2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions.
3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teeni / Mar 6 2009 8:33 am

    Great interview. Yikes about the habanero juice! My ex hubby accidentally ate one of those peppers like you did and I watched him turn like 17 shades of red before sweat beaded up on his forehead. I made sure not to make that same mistake! 😯

  2. cherikooka / Mar 3 2009 1:43 pm

    Interview me. I am in dire need of blog fodder.

  3. glassowater / Mar 3 2009 9:05 am

    So is coin collecting like Fight Club??? “First rule of coin collecting: Don’t talk about Coin Collecting!!” or is it that we want to keep secret our collective stashes of valuable baubles?
    Loved all your answers…
    I got to interview BNL back in college for their first album “Gordon”…just had to toss that out there heehee
    Ok, great job my friend!
    Interview me! 🙂

  4. Ian / Mar 2 2009 8:18 am

    I love spicy foods too. Fingernail sweat made me laugh.
    Interview me!

That's what she said!

