Skip to content
February 25, 2009 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Peeps

chicks1

Here are the six chicks hangin’ in their brooder.  The red light makes the color a bit weird.  Their names are Christmas, Valentine, Fourth of July, Halloween, and Rainbow.  The sixth one didn’t have a name, but a friend at work suggested Bastille.

ajrain2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

AJ holds “Rainbow.” 

christmas

Here is Christmas.

rainbow1

Rainbow again.

val1

This is Valentine, a baby Araucuna.  He/she is the prettiest of the bunch, but also the head honcho.  He’s slightly larger than the rest and very busy, alert.

val2

I like Valentine (Val for short) the best. 

bastille

This is Bastille.  I like the feathery feet.  Bastille is very shy and sweet and doesn’t seem to mind me holding him.  He likes to fall asleep in my hands.  Perhaps he is just an idiot.

christmas2

I think this is Christmas again.  It’s really hard to tell some of them apart.  My son can though.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. David / Mar 11 2009 5:31 pm

    Thanks for posting these lovely chick pix maleesha! They made me go all warm and nostalgic remembering such scenes with my kids. My son Danny would watch the chicks for hours. 🙂

  2. megan / Feb 28 2009 7:20 pm

    That is so incredibly cute!

    The closest I ever got to a peep was in elementary school, when we incubated some eggs. Two out of the dozen hatched. A different lucky kid got to take home one of them each weekend. One weekend I got a chance. It peeped non-stop for two and a half days and was a walking poop machine. I couldn’t decide between nicknaming it The Peeping Pooper or The Pooping Peeper.

  3. rambleicious / Feb 27 2009 12:06 pm

    I love baby chicks – so cute!!

    A friend of mine used to live on a farm and we once raced baby chicks across her bed. Unfortunately one of them got a little excited and pooped on her comforter, so we had to put the chicks back in the barn.

    These are adorable! 😀

    They are poop factories, indeed. They are NOT allowed on the bed 🙂

  4. cherikooka / Feb 27 2009 10:34 am

    Very cute…and scary. We thought Sable was a chicken and ended up being a rooster….eeek. No eggs, and lot’s of crowing – and boy he can be mean!

    Yeah, we plan on eating the roosters 🙂

  5. david / Feb 26 2009 10:39 pm

    OMG OMG OMG

    *cute overload*

    Thx for sharing chick pix!

  6. teeni / Feb 26 2009 12:27 pm

    Oops. I forgot to add that I agree with you about it being a lot healthier than processed crap.

  7. teeni / Feb 26 2009 12:26 pm

    They are so cute. I can deal with it better if I know they are going to have decent lives before they become food, but yeah, I’d definitely hide the kids from the slaughtering. 😯

  8. morethananelectrician / Feb 26 2009 9:26 am

    I love the smile on his face….

  9. natalie / Feb 26 2009 6:16 am

    ohhhh, chicken fingers!!!!!!!

  10. glassowater / Feb 25 2009 10:48 pm

    where my peeps at????
    oh here they are…and they are so adorable!!!!

That's what she said!

