Skip to content
February 23, 2009 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Chicking In

I am a bad blogger lately, and they should take my license away.  Oh, wait, I don’t have a license to blog.  Shh!  Don’t tell anyone.

I am grossly uninspired to write anything lately.  Sometimes I get in a cycle of thoughts and nothing will come out on paper…er, screen.  My insomnia (old friend) has come back tonight so I figured I might as well give a life update here even though it contains nothing interesting.  I do have a great interview from GlassOWater that I have been putting off, mostly because I don’t want to give lame-o answers to the questions, and I am in a really lame-o mood lately. 

possible causes of lame-osity:

  • That February funk…not spring yet, winter seems to drag on forever
  • I keep forgetting that recycle bin in the garage, so I feel guilty throwing things away now
  • The coffee at work has been tasting crappy lately
  • I don’t feel like cleaning the panini press, and there’s little chunks of burnt egg on there and the longer it’s there, the less I want to clean it but the worse I feel about it
  • I feel stupid for feeling stupid about a doggone panini press, and I feel like a pretentious yuppie just uttering the phrase “panini press”
  • I want to cut my hair because it’s starting to be shaggy on the ends, it’s been over a year and I just can’t bring myself to do it.  (Fact!  I cut my hair once a year.  This has been a tradition now for six or seven years.)  Now it’s been over the one year mark, and I just don’t want to do it, but I need to.  My goal is to grow it down to butt-level then cut it off and sell it to a wig shop.  I want to cut it REALLY short to maximize the length I can sell.  Sure, I could donate it to a cancer wig charity but in all actuality I want to sell it.  Because later I want to tell my kids that one time I grew my hair really long and chopped it all off and sent it to a wig maker, so that they can tell their kids how nutty their grandmother was.
  • I had a MOAZ on my chin last week (that’s Mother Of All Zits) that was SO BAD that I actually wore a band-aid over it for three days.  I attempted to disguise it with makeup, but then it just looked like a miniature Kilimanjaro in beige, which was worse than the zit itself.  I put on a band-aid.  Then I worked on several retorts that I would tell to anyone who asked me why I had a band-aid on.  My retorts included:
    • “This zit is so red that I didn’t want a plane to mistake it for a landing strip.”
    • “All the cool kids wear band-aids on their chin, loser.”
    • “It’s nodda tuma.”
  • So yeah, I had all these comebacks, but no one asked me about the band-aid on my chin.  Everyone pretended not to notice, like they KNEW it had to either be a massive zit or spousal abuse, and neither would be polite to inquire about, so I didn’t get to use any of my clever retorts.  People ask about band-aids on elbows or ankles, but apparently not when they are on faces.  It was an interesting social experiment.  Looking back, I should have picked an obnoxious band-aid, like something with SpongeBob or Batman.  Then perhaps other people would not be able to get away with pretending they didn’t see the band-aid.  Anyway, crap.

But it’s not all doom and gloom.  There have been many good things keeping me busy.  I really like my job, so that is nice.   

Things that have been occupying my time:

  • Composting.  I have buckets of banana peels, coffee grounds, newspapers, and other kitchen scraps all over the kitchen.  None of it smells, surprisingly.  It will make nice dirt for the gardens this year.
  • Speaking of gardens, I bit off a big bite and we are starting a CSA farm this year.  I am very excited about it and it’s a massive time commitment, but the insomnia is good for fitting in that “li’l bit extra” I will need to get it done.
  • I have baby chickens in the kitchen right now.  I love them.  My son named them after holidays.  My favorite one is “Valentine” which is ironic, because that is my least favorite holiday.  Valentine is an Aracauna chick and he has tiger striped fuzz.  I love him.  I will feel really bad next fall when I have to chop his head off and put him in the crock pot.  Tough love?
  • I am having a great time using Craiglist to barter.  Bartering…remember that concept?  I’ll give you my saddle for that cast iron pot and whatnot.  Basically I am bartering off my tech skills in exchange for materials, and using the materials to build stuff like coldframes for the garden, fences, etc.  It’s a hell of a lot cheaper and I need to practice being frugal.  Soup lines of 2010, be damned  (And here we all thought we’d have JET PACKS by next year).  Damn fools.
  • I have had the privilege of seeing THREE MOVIES at the theater in the past month.  This is awesome.  If it sounds routine to you, have a couple of children and see how many movies you get to attend in the following years.  That is, unless you are like the douchebag parents who think it’s cool to bring their toddler to Saw V.  Animals.  Anyway, the movies I saw were:
    • The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
    • Gran Torino
    • Slumdog Millionaire
  • All of them were fantastic for different reasons, which is cool because you never know what you are going to get at the theater these days, except for seven dollar Cokes.

Well, that’s it for an update.  Hopefully this blurb will motivate me to get back into the swing of things.  Oh well.  Now and then we all need a hiatus from the computer.  I only wish my hiatus was spent on a beach in Thailand or a cafe in Paris, but it wasn’t too shabby just the way it was. 

Can you believe it’s almost March?

13 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. David / Mar 1 2009 11:32 am

    Post not lame-o at all! Where do unmotivated bloggers go for remotivation? To posts like this.

    Glad your MOAZ went away.

    Happy March!

  2. Pammy Girl / Feb 27 2009 11:23 pm

    I heard this rumor as a kid that when you got older, you never had zits anymore. What a load of crap! I’ve had more zits, adult acne and ‘tumors’ on my face since age 30 than then entire awkward greasy phase when you’re SUPPOSED to look like that. I’ve done the band-aid thing, too.

    me too, me too, me too

  3. Allison / Feb 27 2009 5:43 pm

    I believe I have a case of the February funk as well. Argh. I’m also with you on the rarity of theater-going…and I loved ‘The Curious Case of Benjamin Buttons.’ We are way too old (though we’re not old) for zits…shouldn’t our pores know this? Sorry for the rambling comments.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the ramble.

  4. Romi / Feb 25 2009 9:34 pm

    No I cannot believe it’s almost March since my ass still gets numb now and then from how cold it keeps randomly getting!

    PS: those three movies were indeed fab! 🙂

  5. Greg / Feb 25 2009 7:04 pm

    I have baby chickens in the kitchen right now. I love them. My son named them after holidays. My favorite one is “Valentine” which is ironic, because that is my least favorite holiday. Valentine is an Aracauna chick and he has tiger striped fuzz. I love him. I will feel really bad next fall when I have to chop his head off and put him in the crock pot. Tough love?

    I wasn’t expecting this. It took me by surprise. I laughed so suddenly and so hard that I nearly choked on my own spit. By the time I recovered my gut was killing me like I had just done 300 sit-ups. We could so be neighbors (that is if you lived down in my climate). I’m sure you know what I mean. It’s this exact wit and sense of humor of yours that keeps me reading and has you on my blogroll for life.

    I’m still laughing.

    🙂 Thanks, I am glad you got a laugh out of it! And I do know what you mean. Ha!

  6. smalltownsmalltimes / Feb 25 2009 7:36 am

    Thanks for the glimpse. I just finished my coffee and read this. I feel like we just got off the phone or something. Chickens in the kitchen. Man, you are a world away. It sounds cozy, earthy and real over there in MT.

    They won’t live there when they get big!!! 🙂 Then it would be TOO cozy.

  7. bluesuit12 / Feb 24 2009 8:20 pm

    Loved this! Especially the line about the jet packs…damn fools. I probably wouldn’t ask someone what was under their facial band aid either. If it were a guy I would just assume they nicked it shaving, a girl…I don’t know.

  8. rambleicious / Feb 24 2009 3:38 pm

    You’re back! Yay!!

    I once burned myself with a curling iron and put a band aid over it and EVERYONE asked about it and assumed it was a MOAZ. I suppose that’s the hazards of retail though.

  9. morethananelectrician / Feb 24 2009 2:31 pm

    I am going to have to say that i was hoping for a photo of the chicks…are they Gremlin-like and afraid of flashes? Don’t get them wet either?

    They are adorable. They will be gremlin like in about 2 weeks. I will get photos up tonight.

  10. teeni / Feb 24 2009 10:19 am

    Wow. I’ve missed your posts but I have that same bloggy blah feeling. I’ve got tons I want to write about in my head but no ambition to sit and write it out/post it. Gah. I’m hoping inspiration will strike soon. I’m glad you like your job though and that you are doing so many cool things like the gardening and raising chickens. So is there some rule where you have to kill them after only one year to eat them? Just curious because I really have no clue and I would find it hard to do that no matter what. I could easily live without chicken. I think I’d miss eggs though. 😉

    No rule…but I figure I will designate some as egg layers/pets, and some as food. I have six in the kitchen right now, and 25 more are coming next Tuesday. That is too many pets. It will definitely be hard to eat them but I am just telling myself that it’s much healthier than eating some mechanically separated chicken bits from Tyson. Also they will have a good life while they are here…not cooped up in a pen. I will also have to be able to hide my son from the head-chopping…he would not enjoy that at all.

  11. Georgene / Feb 24 2009 9:10 am

    Fun stuff. I understand that “feeling guilty” over not recycling everything, but here in Memphis it’s a lot easier to recycle. You put all paper, cardboard, etc… in a bag out near your trash bin, and the container with glass and aluminum cans. Different trucks come on “garbage day” and take these items. Works pretty well.
    I like your work, even when you’re in blog block – it’s still funny!

  12. crisitunity / Feb 24 2009 6:57 am

    You are totally correct about facial band-aids. I would never ask someone what’s under a facial band-aid, I’d be afraid to hurt their feelings.

    Generally I smiled a lot when reading this post. Glad to see you’re still around.

    Also? You should think about doing a Jeff Foxworthy-esque routine – You Know You’re In Montana When…

    …you have baby chicks and compost containers in your kitchen.

    …you cut your hair once a year and plan to sell it.

    …you have a panini press. No, wait, that one’s not right.

    HA!!! I am such an enigma. I have a panini press AND I like gourmet foods of all kinds. I am still around. I’m reading everyone’s blogs each day…just had a bad bout of blog block.

  13. Taoist Biker / Feb 24 2009 6:41 am

    Supposedly your band-aid phenomenon was the genesis of Chuck Palahnuik’s book Fight Club. According to his commentary on the DVD, he’d gone camping one weekend, gotten into a fight with the campers at the next site over their loud music and gotten his face all messed up, and expected everybody at his office to freak out on Monday…and nobody said a word. Which got him thinking, and tada, book.

    I say getting your butt kicked really good once is worth it in exchange for the life of a famous author. Maybe the MOAZ will work for ya?

    Dang. The MOAZ has diminished by now. Perhaps I should have added a compost rub and kept it around longer. I had no idea about that Fight Club story. How awesome.

That's what she said!

