Skip to content
December 21, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Assorted Cookies

I am really low on material this month, can you tell?

I make Christmas cookies every year.  My definition of a Christmas cookie is one that has been rolled and cut out into some shape, usually a jolly bell or a tree or something like that.  Icing is optional, but not in this house.  We must have icing.  So I make a batch of icing from powdered sugar and milk and add various colors.  Voila!  Cookie time. 

This year I found a ridiculously outstanding selection of cookie cutters at our local hardware store. 

 

I could have blown my entire check in this hardware store.  Their kitchen selection was unbelievable.  Anyway, in addition to the standard tree and candy cane shapes, this year we have the Christmas moose, the trout, and the T-Rex. 

I think we ended up with about 15o cookies.  I will bring some to work this week to share.  But I wanted to post some of the winners of our unofficial decorating contest between myself, my husband, and my son.  Here are my favorites.  Do note that I used my special green plate (25 cents at the thrift shop) with a backdrop of snowman salt and pepper shakers for that special holiday effect. 

Our Favorite Cookies This Year

Rainbow Trout (me)

 

Rabid Moose (Wasband)

Psychedelic Butterfly (Wasband)

T-Rex with many eyes (AJ)

Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell Moose (Wasband)

Blue Dove (me)

Football Player from the Yellow Team (Wasband & AJ)

No, really.  SOME of our cookies were green and red and quite Christmas-y looking.  Honest. 

And what else?

I have no idea why I am up at 11 PM posting.  I should be asleep.  I have to work in the morning.  I should be tired.  I baked all weekend.  I worked a weird shift.  I wrote out Christmas cards.  We decorated our tree.  I wrapped presents.  I cleaned messes.  In fact, I smell I diaper that needs to be swapped out for a freshie right now. 

Unpacking is going well.  I am unpacking boxes that I have not opened in my last five moves.  I am not a pack rat, but I have never had the space to unload some of these things.  Most of the unopened boxes are mementos and things that I don’t need to be displayed, but I couldn’t toss them because one day I would really kick myself.  So these mysterious boxes (the oldest unopened was from a move in 2002, I believe) are full of things that I am no longer aware of…until I open them, that is, then memories come back and there is a moment of joy.  Joy in the case of remembering I used to collect these little ceramic kittens (what the hell?  Am I eighty?) and seeing their tiny little paws still intact.  Misery, in the case of discovering my glass from the 1997 Marine Corps Ball didn’t survive one of the many moves I made.  It was in many pieces at the bottom of a box.

Joy in the case of finding a painting of a fish that I did many, many years ago.  Misery in remembering the other paintings I destroyed thinking I would never want them again.  Joy in the case of discovering a note from my late grandmother.  Misery in the case of slicing my arm on a sharp edge of cardboard. 

Who knows, maybe I will fully unpack this time?

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. pikespeakdenise / Dec 30 2008 6:44 am

    I’m totally making rainbow trout cookies for next year’s cookie swap! This year it was plain cocoa molasses moose…with no icing. Kinda cruel for kiddos, I know, but the sugar high must stop at some point!

  2. David / Dec 23 2008 8:41 pm

    Love your cookies! Nice presentation. 😀

    Great post– glad you stayed up late for it!

    Typical solstice behavior, maybe, especially combined with moving? Sorry about your shattered Marine Corps Ball glass. 😦

    Happy Holidays!

  3. Christine / Dec 22 2008 6:22 pm

    Yes, you are definitely 80. And I think your rainbow trout looks delicious. 😀

  4. Allison / Dec 22 2008 2:33 pm

    Do you think our cookies would survive a postal exchange? If so, please through the rainbow trout in my box 🙂

  5. bluesuit12 / Dec 22 2008 1:30 pm

    Those cookies look like they were tons of fun to decorate and that’s not usually the part I like. Maybe some of the things you find in those boxes could prompt more blog material for you if you’re running low. Merry Christmas!

  6. teeni / Dec 22 2008 12:42 pm

    Man – those are yummy looking cookies! They are all glorious but my favorites are the Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell Moose and the Football Player from the Yellow Team. 🙂 Hey – you can get red and green christmas cookies ANYwhere. I come here for the really cool and different cookies! 😉 Have a wonderful holiday season, Maleesha! 🙂

  7. crisitunity / Dec 22 2008 6:36 am

    I. LOVE. These cookies. Especially Wasband’s meese.

That's what she said!

