Skip to content
December 8, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Snow, Lights and Boogers

I am a morning person.  I am more of a morning person when my children sleep through the night; so lately I am a “sleep whenever you can” type of person, but traditionally I am a morning person.  This morning I woke up and drove to work and I was thrilled by the whiteness of everything.  Snow covered the streets and the mountains and even stuck sideways to the green street name signs, covering the words.  I imagine people who didn’t know where they were going had a rough time this morning.  Snow was on the trees in that way where the entire tree looks completely frosted.  It was beauteous.  The sunrise was pink-purple and cast an ethereal glow onto the landscape in all directions.  The mountains in the background were white and pointy and perfect, and if it weren’t for all the damn houses in the way I might have thought I woke up in Narnia. 

So why is it then…when I leave work to go home, and the sun is setting at 4:15, and the wind is howling, and my car is so cold that it doesn’t really want to start, and it takes the grace of a ballerina (uh, not happening here) just to stay erect on the sidewalk which now resembles more of a skating rink than a sidewalk…that the same white frost covering everything seems so frickin’ annoying?  It is a mystery.  Perhaps it just isn’t the same without that ethereal purple glow. 

But there are Christmas lights, and sparkly LED encrusted trees to look at, so I am happy.  Our neighbors did a candy-cane theme on their house, it is cleverly dolled up in red and white lights.  It looks fantastic.  Apparently they think so too, because they were outside this morning taking pictures of it all lit up and shiny against the blue morning light.  And they haven’t turned the lights back on.  You know the economy is really bad when people put lights all around their house, take photos of it, then don’t turn them back on.  I know those lights suck up a lot of electricity, but that is just sad.  Perhaps they took the photo to Costco and had it enlarged to window-size, then taped in to the inside of their window so they could look out of their window and see their own house covered in Christmas lights.  Now would printing out a window sized photo cost more or less than lighting candy-cane lights all December?  I am not sure.  More research needs to happen.

My son woke up yesterday morning with a giant green boogerwad plastered under his nose.  He must have rolled around a lot that night, because it was smeared on his upper lip from one side to the other.  He came to breakfast and reached up to touch his lip.  His eyes got really big, then he happily announced, “Wow!  I guess I’m growing a mustache already.”

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. teeni / Dec 11 2008 1:35 pm

    OMG – I’m laughing and cringing at the same time about your son’s mustache! LOL.

  2. smalltownsmalltimes / Dec 10 2008 7:28 am

    Being a night owl — I find the magic after everyone has gone to bed…but there is something about the lights in the dark sky that is magical.

    I love the snowflakes how DID you do that?

  3. Allison / Dec 10 2008 4:27 am

    Awwwww…you added falling snow to your blog. Thanks for sharing your snow 🙂 We just had a few flurries last weekend 😦

    Eek to the booger declaration!

  4. bluesuit12 / Dec 9 2008 9:58 am

    I’m with you on thinking everything looks so lovely and peaceful in the morning and by the afternoon I’m so annoyed by it. HAHA your son is pretty funny.

  5. crisitunity / Dec 9 2008 6:38 am

    I ONLY like snow from inside the window looking out.

    I’m sure the candy-cane house is pretty, but that bit reminded me of the part in Christmas Vacation when all the lights on the house made their electric meter run and run and run and the guys at the power plant had to put on an extra auxiliary switch.

    And…ah, the joys of children.

  6. morethananelectrician / Dec 8 2008 10:22 pm

    His mustache is probably better than mine!

That's what she said!

