Skip to content
December 5, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Christmas Tree Limbo

We have not set up our tree yet, because like huge dorks, we have decided to find a new place to live in mid-December.  We found a place to rent that is WAY more “us” than where we are now, it has twice the space, a ginormous fenced backyard, and trees.  The best part is that I will get my very own space, a REAL space, not a cloffice, for the first time in YEARS.  I have plans, BIG plans. 

Since we are moving in a week and a half, we are not setting up the Christmas tree until we get into the new place.  This is giving me severe anxiety, because my system is telling me that I should have colorful lights and a star-topped pine in my close proximity.  I thought about this, and if the average person sets up their Christmas tree after Thanksgiving, and takes it down after New Years, that means most of us spend about 1/12th of our life in the presence of a Christmas tree. 

Usually I have a Christmas tree in my office at work, but when we moved I left my treasured fiber-optic mini-tree to my friend Lisa, and I have not replaced it.  Perhaps I should make this a high-priority purchase so I can see some holiday-goodness during the workday. 

We, like probably most people out there, are cutting way down on Christmas this year.  We’re still going to do Beef Eve, but we’re getting a local carcass instead of ordering from Kansas City Steaks.  This is kind of a tragedy to me, but since I recently got my cholesterol checked I am cutting way back on consumption of cow anyway (Those results weren’t pretty).

I still plan on a cookie night though, and this year I am going to really decorate those cookies.  I’ve become weirdly domestic lately, and the urge to make my surroundings more Martha-Stewarty has really set in.  Maybe it’s the fact that I will be getting my very own craft room. 

I really need to set up a tree, soon.  I’m going to freak out.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. pikespeakdenise / Dec 30 2008 6:57 am

    A craft room? Excellent!

  2. teeni / Dec 5 2008 11:19 pm

    Oooh, I’m jealous of your craft room. If you get any good ideas for setting it up while you are putting it together, please do share!

  3. Greg / Dec 5 2008 7:02 pm

    What timing. Good luck with the move. Sometimes I think I’d rather take a 30 minute beating than do that and I’ve done it more times than I can tell you right off the top of my head.

    What I really wanted to say here is that I love the term “cloffice”. I hope you coined that. Having read your blog for some time I’m pretty sure you did. It’s funny. That cloffice looks very cozy. I think I could really, really concentrate in there.

  4. crisitunity / Dec 5 2008 4:38 pm

    I join in wishing you good luck, but I also have to add that you shouldn’t worry about not having a tree up yet. I spent years without Christmas trees at all, and I’m moderately well-adjusted. My dad and I used to put our presents around the banana tree that he grew in a pot.

    BF and I have only a silver tinsel/fiber optic tree. I never feel like going to the trouble of a live tree – we don’t have enough ornaments for one anyway – and so I went to Target and found the ugliest possible one so we could laugh at it for the season.

    We haven’t set it up yet.

  5. morethananelectrician / Dec 5 2008 4:00 pm

    What a tough time to move. We did it at Thanksgiving one year and that was a challenge. Attempting a Christmas move is a whole different beast. Good Luck!

That's what she said!

