Skip to content
December 4, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Christmas Photo from Yore

Rambleicious has issued a call to post a childhood photo from Christmas. And because I LOVE the entire month of December, I am going to partake. Conveniently, I recently acquired hundreds of old photos from my family and I found some Christmas ones. I couldn’t decide which one was my favorite so like the overachiever I am, I am going to post two.

Here is the first one – we spent Christmas in Wisconsin and got to meet the real Santa. The whole family was there. My Grandpa had to leave the room to “make a phone call” and then five minutes later Santa showed up! My cousins and I were so dissappointed that Santa had to leave without waiting for my Grandpa to meet him, but Santa explained he had to deliver toys to the whole world. Then my Grandpa came back to the room and Santa was gone. It was so frustrating, ’cause they were both old and I thought they could be good friends, maybe go fishing together, but what can you do? Santa left me what I had wanted all year – Snoopy!

snoopy1

The next one is one that I love and hate at the same time, because I look so happy.  The neighbors/landlord had brought me a rocking horse.  I don’t actually remember this day, but it’s clear that this was a big moment, and I was happy.  Really happy.  And I am not sure that I have ever been that happy and carefree since.  So I think of this picture as proof of something, of what I am not yet sure.

bouncy

More Christmas drivel to come, all month long!  And post a picture of your own yore too. 

Check out Allison’s cute picture too!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sharon / Dec 5 2008 11:50 am

    That picture of you on the horse looks like AJ!

    He IS my son after all!!!!

  2. Allison / Dec 5 2008 4:28 am

    Love ’em. I noticed that Santa is wearing a watch in the first picture. That explains how he accomplishes so much in so little time!

    Also, the expression on your face in the second photo is priceless. How wonderful that it was caught on film for eternity (and the Sesame Street jammies are awesome).

    You always notice the best things in photos. I was a big fan of Sesame Street.

  3. Christine / Dec 4 2008 7:25 pm

    These are great! 😀

    We had horses like those too.

  4. Pammy Girl / Dec 4 2008 4:07 pm

    How ironic is it that I just posted Christmas photos of me wearing footie pjs? We really need to stick together, us footie pj wearing kids from the 70s. Love the pix!

    Yours are great too! Damn skippy.

  5. morethananelectrician / Dec 4 2008 3:10 pm

    I love the pajamas in the bottom picture too…you sure were having a good time.

    It makes me want to have one of those horses next to my desk…but bigger!

    I could use one of those…perhaps EBay?

  6. rambleicious / Dec 4 2008 1:53 pm

    Both photos are adorable! I especially like the second one. My sister and I had that same horse – and I think we have a photo of her that looks very much like yours. She loved that horse.

    I’m so glad you posted! These are great 😀

That's what she said!

