Skip to content
November 30, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Sales, Sales, Sales

A few years back, my friend Denise and I decided to bravely face “Black Friday” and shop (to, er, support the economy and all) ’til we dropped.  We headed to a Wal-Mart (I feel dirty just saying that) in Colorado Springs for the 4 AM “doorbuster” sale.  My target was a $4 food processor.  I never had owned a food processor, and I liked the idea of it.  I wanted to process things, dammit! 

So there we were, a couple of cheeseballs, standing outside in the cold (but just for a bit…we weren’t too early).  We went inside Wal-Mart and saw many piles of black plastic-covered…stuff.  We weren’t sure where the food processors would be, or any of the other “can’t miss sales” would be.  All the deeply discounted crap was under these mysterious covers of black plastic. 

Finally the shopping commenced and we found the blue boxes of discounted kitchen appliances.  Oh, how I wish, wish, wish I would have taken a picture of the box.  It was labeled, in an unassuming font, “4 Qart Food Processor.”  That’s right.  4 Qarts of food processing goodness.  You could hear the pronunciation of the people who built the thing.  I bought it anyway, half because it was four dollars and half because it said “qart.”

That was the last time I shopped on a “Black Friday.”  Until recently, that is.  The plan was to stay inside all day, but then my son needed batteries for a toy, it was an emergency, imperative that I find some Double A’s right now.  Fearing a complete meltdown, I ventured to Staples.

No one was shopping.  The Staples in question is in off the beaten path.  Most of the Bozeman shoppers were probably on North 19th, where all the big box stores are popping out of the ground like weeds.  This Staples was pre-19th Avenue, so there were two shoppers in the whole store: me, and some other dork who needed batteries. 

Intrigued by the sparkly signs, I was drawn to the back of the store where deals! deals! deals! were lined up on red and green tables.  And I was truly impressed by the deals they were offering.  A $129 keyboard and mouse set (top of the line) for $39.  A $100 digital picture frame for $29.  A stack of 100 recordable DVDs for $4.  I asked the lady there how long these prices were going to last.  I didn’t want to purchase anything right then, I wanted to bring the batteries home and come back. 

“Those prices are only good until 10 AM,” she said. 

It was 9:45.  I wasn’t going to make it back in time.  However, I wasn’t going to buy a bunch of crap under pressure, either. 

I’m still confused as to why they were ending their sale at 10 AM.  NO ONE was shopping there.  There were TONS of items stacked up, as if NO ONE had been there all morning.  Why raise the prices before anyone had showed?  I guess we’ll never know.  And I could have really used a new keyboard.  Oh well.  Cyber Monday starts in just a few hours…

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. pikespeakdenise / Dec 3 2008 9:26 pm

    At least there is a picture of our overflowing Target cart from later that morning!

    Without you I failed at Black Friday AND Cyber Monday shopping. I was in stores on Saturday and online Sunday. See how confused I am?!?

    I can understand wanting to process things but just remember to never do it as a living. 😉

    I even have the t-shirt to remind me so…

  2. smalltownsmalltimes / Dec 1 2008 7:22 pm

    OMG – I hope you took a picture of the 4 qart box. That is effing hilarious.

  3. crisitunity / Dec 1 2008 10:58 am

    I’m with Teeni. It’s why I never, ever go out on Black Friday – that and the possibility of death by stampede.

  4. teeni / Nov 30 2008 12:17 pm

    That is annoying that they would stop the sale so early. The only reason I can think of is if it were some corporate thing where across the board they would have to stop the sale in all their stores at a certain time but it does seem like they could keep the sale prices all day long. I don’t understand the whole mentality of trying to force humans to act like puppets by forcing them to shop within such a confined window in order to get good prices. I won’t support such things. I do love that you were able to get a 4 qart food processor years ago and I hope it is still serving you well. 🙂

  5. romi41 / Nov 30 2008 12:09 pm

    ….I love that line that you wanted to “process” stuff…hahaha….does a food processor come in handy alot? I don’t think I cook enough to know the answer 😉

    PS: you’re a sweet mom for running out on Black Friday for batteries 😉

That's what she said!

