Skip to content
October 27, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Artsy Fartsy Weekend

I spent the weekend at a local hotel with thirty eight women of various ages for the purpose of attending scrapbooking retreat.  What this really means is, thirty eight women got to regress back to the days of glitter and glue and cutting paper into various shapes.  I am still recovering from glue inhalation.

I was introduced to scrapbooking by my friend Denise, who conveniently sells scrapbooking stuff.  It’s really like crack (so I am told), they give you a few freebies until you are hooked and then you end up spending every available dollar on fancy paper and scissors that leave curly designs. 

I shared a room with three friends and we stayed up until the wee hours of the morning.  The last night we were all up until four A.M., which is a lot closer to when I normally wake up.  I was so tired that all I could do was apply glitter and “diamond glaze” to paper like a robot.  Which brings me to the next point: diamond glaze? 

Since we moved I haven’t been able to scrapbook much, but my techniques to date have been mostly cut, paste, label.  This weekend I learned about many (new to me) ways to fancy-shmancify pages:

Diamond Glaze – a clear glue to apply to paper to make it shiny and crisp

Pop Dots – Thingeys to make little items like diamond-glazed paper cuttings appear three-dimensional on your page

Brayer – Basically, a steamroller to flatten your paper down properly

Stickles – Glamorous glitter glue for grownups

Glue Dots – Little dots of super-strength glue to hold on all this weighted-down stuff

I thought *I* had a lot of stuff, but most of the ladies in the room put me to shame.  There were ladies there with sewing machines to embroider text onto the page, and add gold thread to their photo borders.  There were women with special heating machines to emboss paper to make it look like metal.  There were people bringing in portable closets with paper arranged on shelves by color, theme, and texture.  It was crazy.  Some of the people I met made it clear that if scrapbooking suddenly dried up and went away, they would drop dead.  I will never be that into it, but it’s a fun hobby and a great outlet for creativity.

I’m still picking glue out of my ears.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. pikespeakdenise / Nov 14 2008 5:38 am

    I am hanging my head in shame for having never seen this diamond glaze! 😉 Joy swears by the weekend crop. She only comes to January Suite Retreat each year, and does her entire year of cut-n-pasting in that one weekend!

    You linked to my useless blog. lol Perhaps there shall be new content by Thanksgiving. Maybe of my current adventures in allergies and eye treatments. Hopefully something more blog-worthy will present itself soon…

  2. msmollie / Oct 31 2008 7:26 am

    I admit I’ve tried the scrap booking thing, but I never could get into it. Although being made to do it in a room full of scrapbookers might get me going and I’d finally finish Maggie’s baby book. Hmmmm….

    That is the ONLY way to go, the social way. I have a hard time scrapbooking myself. If you want to finish that book, find a group! It’s like a slumber party with glitter and construction paper.

  3. Pammy Girl / Oct 30 2008 12:23 pm

    I tried to get into scrapbooking. For my birthday a few years back, my mother gave me those funky scissors, pretty paper, funky stickers, a binder… etc. I lost interest after a few hours. I reverted to stuffing my photos in regular ole albums — that or putting them in a HUGE plastic container that sits untouched in my closet.

    I love funky scissors!

  4. curlywurlygurly / Oct 30 2008 6:10 am

    oh, brother. i also got sucked into the scrapbooking thing–my cousin was selling it. the problem is that i can’t sit still for longer than 10 seconds…so i never finished any ONE page. i have several albums of half-done pages and spent a good portion of my childrens’ inheritance on supplies. )lucky thing i don’t HAVE any kids.)

    honestly, i’m not the most creative person out there and have the patience of a flea. together those things mix to make me a bad scrapper.

  5. teeni / Oct 27 2008 9:56 pm

    Well, that sounded like fun. I am totally clueless about scrapbooking but any time a bunch of women get together to do something crafty like that sounds like fun to me.

  6. romi41 / Oct 27 2008 6:03 pm

    Stickles? I am always on board with glamourous glue for grown-ups 🙂 …you know, I think they could make a movie out of this…it has that Little Miss Sunshine “pageant feel” to it (i.e. the ones who brought heating machines and portable closets…lol..); scrapbooking actually seems pretty cool to me, and I feel like that is something I’d like to do once I settle down with my hot-A$$ husband and we have some memories etc. to capture… 😉 (I know that I will probably do this, because in high school I would make all my friends’ christmas cards out of construction paper, and they effin’ loved it (I’m assuming….haha 😉 )

    Yes! They could. I have so many stories from the weekend that involve old ladies and strange fights over paper that I don’t know where to start. It’s quite addictive and I hope soon you and your man make lots of children so you can begin the baby book. 🙂 That’s when I started…kid pictures.

  7. crisitunity / Oct 27 2008 1:42 pm

    I find obsessive croppers to be a bit weird. The whole habit is a source of slight annoyance to me because it takes up a lot of space in Michael’s and A.C. Moore that could be reserved for knitting/cross-stitching supplies instead.

    Nevertheless, I liked this post. Very descriptive.

    lol. I love it, but I definitely see that there are many more people who love it much more than me…the ones willing to haul their sewing machines everywhere to get that letter stitched to the paper just right. I like glue but I can only do so much with it.

  8. morethananelectrician / Oct 27 2008 10:14 am

    My wife does this with about four moms at our house, but never for more that four hours. I get kid wrangling duties…I am not sure we could survive a weekend without mom.

    You should let her go for a weekend sometime. It worked wonders for me. I have the same problem…but my husband survived and actually did a really good job. Of course, my son was a mess by Sunday and I had to come home early…it’s nice to be missed I guess. 🙂

  9. bluesuit12 / Oct 27 2008 9:05 am

    I have to say that I’m scrapbook deficient. I completely suck at this. My oldest sister is quite good so I’m not sure what happened to me. Sounds like you had fun though.

That's what she said!

