Skip to content
October 22, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Cannibal Pumpkin

I love carving a good pumpkin.  And this year, since we grew our own mini-field of pumpkins, we had a lot to choose from.  I decided that I was definitely going to submit a contest entry to CurlyWurlyGurly’s pumpkin carving contest, but I just couldn’t decide what I was going to carve.  I couldn’t decide what to carve, that is, until viewing the final presidential debate.  Then suddenly the image appeared in my mind.

I present to you…

Cannibal Pumpkin!

The large pumpkin weighed nearly 200 pounds.  It is a Dill’s Atlantic Giant.  In better climates, they can grow to be upwards of 1000 pounds.   If that had happened, there would have been no carving.  Luckily I have a brother who has arms like tree trunks, and he was good enough to carry the pumpkin to a good carving place.  Why does it appear to have eczema, you ask?  That is a little bit of frost damage (it got really cold here in early October).  At first I was very upset, but I think the frost damage really lends to the serial killer vibe, no?

The bottom pumpkin is a run of the mill sugar pumpkin, good for pies and what have you. 

So there you go, CWG, my official entry to the CWG pumpkin carving contest.  I’m not sure it’s as cool as Veggie’s pineapple, but it’s what I have. 

So which is it?  A psychotic cannibal pumpkin, or a political analogy of some kind?  You be the judge.  And have a happy Halloween.

15 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Pammy Girl / Oct 30 2008 12:21 pm

    Evil and mean. Absolutely fabulous… love it!

  2. Billy / Oct 27 2008 5:07 pm

    Those are soo great! Beats Pineapple Paul by a mile. 😉

  3. jimsmuse / Oct 27 2008 9:34 am

    What a completely awesome pumpkin! It looks big enough to rent out to a family of 5 when Halloween is over. I love the face, and now that I’m seeing other contest entries like this, my hopes of winning are dwindling rapidly!

    Best of luck in the contest…may the spookiest competitor prevail! 🙂

    thanks! you did a good job as well 🙂 I’m just out for the coffee.

  4. bluesuit12 / Oct 27 2008 9:03 am

    haha!! I love it!

  5. Romi / Oct 24 2008 2:55 am

    Did you actually cut those little eyebrow slivers into the wee pumpkin? If that is the case I am seriously impressed, but I also like that you gave him eyeballs too 😉

    Oh yes. In a previous life, I was an artist.

  6. Ron / Oct 24 2008 2:20 am

    Yikes! You could get a job as a creature designer for Wes Craven! 100% right on the serial killer frosty texture.

    🙂

  7. crisitunity / Oct 22 2008 11:40 pm

    I repeat Ian: this is teh awesome. I showed it to BF and he burst out laughing. This is not easy to get him to do. Congratulations!

    🙂

  8. Christine / Oct 22 2008 11:33 pm

    That must have been a beast to cut through! Did you roast the seeds? 🙂

    It was a monster. It took me a while to decide whether or not it was worth it. We did roast the seeds. They’re about three times the size of regular pumpkin seeds!

  9. Cherikooka / Oct 22 2008 5:14 pm

    Soooooo cool!!!!!!

  10. curlywurlygurly / Oct 22 2008 2:33 pm

    wow! not only did you carve a pumpkin..but you GREW one! bonus points with the judges! hope you win the gift card–you can get lots of pumpkin spice coffees with it!

    I LOVE pumpkin spiced coffees!

  11. Allison / Oct 22 2008 10:23 am

    Wow! Each is fabulous in its own right…but the combination is hilarious. You have to win.

  12. kaylee / Oct 22 2008 5:01 am

    me love some pumpkin bread ::)

  13. Ian / Oct 22 2008 2:42 am

    That is teh awesome.

  14. morethananelectrician / Oct 22 2008 2:33 am

    The discoloration does make it a bit more eerie. I might have a bit of an issue sleeping.

  15. teeni / Oct 22 2008 2:22 am

    Wow – that is pretty cool! I’m impressed with your pumpkin knowledge too! I didn’t even know there were different kinds.

That's what she said!

