Skip to content
September 18, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Hand, Foot, Mouth Disease: Fever Dreams

Apparently I am one of the very few adults who never encountered the HFMD virus in my youth, because I have it now.  My children are just getting over it.  Yesterday afternoon I was suddenly, out of the blue, very sick.  By the evening my fever got up to 103 and I was a real mess.  And today I realized that I have painful spots on my hands and feet…and forget about eating.  HFMD creates unpleasant ulcerations in your mouth.  The only thing I can stand to drink or eat right now is water.  Hand, Foot and Mouth Disease is not related to Hoof and Mouth disease in cattle, though my husband is having a fine time cracking jokes about that. 

Photo from askdrsears.com

My fever was really high, and I don’t remember much about that, other than bits and pieces of really strange dreams…and a lot of them.  I can’t even remember them all but here are a few samples of what went through my head last night:

  • John McCain eating a caramel apple at the mall.  He was wearing shorts and one of those colorful hats with a propeller on top.  Yet he still had a white shirt and tie. 
  • I was a bush pilot in Alaska and my co-pilot was Sasquatch
  • Really, really strange beings that looked like giant termites breaking into my house and kidnapping my children
  • I was in a random business meeting.  I worked in an ad agency in some big city…totally different life, totally different wardrobe, totally different career.

I read somewhere that dreams only last a couple of seconds, though they play out as whole stories in your head.  That makes sense.  Memories are like that too.  But it fascinates me…the inner workings of the brain.

Anyway, you can still read this blog without fear of catching the nasty HFMD virus.  However if I see you in person, do not let me touch you, kick you, or lick you.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Allison / Sep 23 2008 3:41 am

    I never knew there was so many diseases/illnesses out there until my kid went to daycare.

    That sounds awful! Wishing you a speedy recovery!!

  2. margotmarrakesh / Sep 20 2008 4:06 pm

    So sorry to hear of your problem! I hope you’ll get better, soon.

    Margot in Marrakesh

  3. Christine / Sep 19 2008 5:08 pm

    Ooooh fun. I’ll have to try to keep the licking to a minimum then…How long does this thing last?

  4. Emily / Sep 19 2008 3:58 pm

    Oh, I hope you get better soon!

  5. faemom / Sep 19 2008 1:22 pm

    I hope you get well too. But count in me in as one of those rare adults that have never heard of Hand, Foot, and Mouth disease. And for those jokes, kick your husband.

  6. bluesuit12 / Sep 19 2008 7:20 am

    Man, I hope you and your family are feeling better. Doesn’t sound like good times. Loved the dreams!

  7. crisitunity / Sep 19 2008 5:51 am

    YIPE.

    I am enamored of your vision of McCain. I can completely see him in one of those beanies.

  8. romi41 / Sep 18 2008 9:14 pm

    well..I usually come here in hopes of being licked, but FINE…no licking today.. 😉

    PS: seriously though, hope you’re feeling better again soon!

  9. pikespeakdenise / Sep 18 2008 8:33 pm

    That’s about what it would take for me to vote for McCain. 😉

    Get better SOON!

  10. morethananelectrician / Sep 18 2008 8:23 pm

    In general, I have a “no touching”. This rule is now officially amended to “no touching or licking.”

    At least we now know that Big Foot is alive, well and working in Alaska!

That's what she said!

