Skip to content
July 29, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Don’t Dress in Texas

Every time I have been to Houston, it’s because I was passing through the airport and my flight got canceled. The last time this happened was on a hot August day and I was returning from a week long work trip.  If you’ve been to Houston in August, you know that it’s hot and humid and generally miserable.  I was coming from Huntsville, Alabama on an already late-in-the-afternoon flight.  The plane made it to Houston, but huge, grey thunderstorms rolled in and all the flights were cancelled.  

While people were scrambling around trying to figure out how to get to wherever their destinations were, I wandered over to the hotel and asked for a room.  The good thing about the Houston airport is that there is a hotel right there.  A darned pricey one, but I was going to try my darnedest to expense it later.  I lucked out and got one of the last rooms available…they started going quick once the airport announced that it was officially closing for the night due to the storms.  

I was hot.  I was sweaty.  I had been in the south in the same work outfit since five that morning.  All of my luggage was stowed away in the bottom of a 737 out on the tarmac.  I wanted a clean pair of clothes really, really bad.

Enter the gift shop. 

I was able to find a small stick of deodorant, a bottle of contact lens solution, and some shampoo.  But what I really needed was that clean outfit.  Using the hotel laundry was out of the question…what was I going to wear while my clothes were washing?  I skimmed through the racks but everything was incredibly gift-shop priced: expensive.  

Then I noticed the clearance rack!  I searched through the clearance rack right there in the Houston airport.  I soon realized that everything on the clearance rack was on clearance for a very good reason.  I managed to put something together.  I tell you that this was the best that I could do.  Even on sale, the outfit pictured below cost me forty dollars at the Houston airport gift shop.  But like I said, I really, really wanted a change of clothes:

That T-shirt is a 2XL (I like a regular old “L” in T-shirts) and the pants are ginormous, but they have a drawstring.  I had grand plans to put this on, go wash my work outfit, dry it, and get to sleep.  But when I got to the hotel room, I was so tuckered out that I just had to go to sleep.  And in the morning, my rockin’ Texas outfit was waiting for me. I wore it on the plane home.  What you don’t see is the nice, professional looking black pair of shoes that I was wearing.  They really made the outfit.  

I got noticed several times in the airport.  Some of the looks sent my way were of disgust (she must be trailer trash), some were of amusement (the circus cleanup crew must be on break) and some, I am pretty sure, were of pity (she must be autistic).  Most people didn’t seem to notice (or at least care) at all, and that made me happy.  

I still don’t know why the Houston airport gift shop had frog pajama pants, but I’m really glad they did.  They’re super comfortable.

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. pikespeakdenise / Aug 4 2008 8:44 pm

    You should wear the froggies to the Pantry.

  2. Allison / Jul 31 2008 4:45 am

    Love the outfit. I say ‘Don’t Mess With Texas’ all the time, and I’m not really sure why because I have never been there.

    The only thing that would make the pants more perfect is if they have pockets. Do they?

    They DO.

  3. curlywurlygurly / Jul 30 2008 4:45 pm

    lol…you have a great eye for fashion! those pants are hawt. 🙂

  4. msmollie / Jul 30 2008 3:39 am

    Kudos to you, I don’t think I could wear that in the airport. Too funny!!!

  5. kaylee / Jul 29 2008 8:35 pm

    TOO Funny! I got my laughs in for the day 🙂

  6. glassowater / Jul 29 2008 1:59 pm

    I was making a joke about relating your outfit to the theme song from “Team America: World Police”
    Does your blog block comments with offensive words? If so, I will be happy to edit myself….
    heehee

    It does but I fixed that for you, because it DOES!

  7. glassowater / Jul 29 2008 1:56 pm

    That outfit has “America: Fuck Yeah!!” written all over it. 🙂

    Suddenly I have the urge to put it on with some oversized sunglasses, and go running through the park singing that song…

    Or maybe just watch the World Police DVD.

  8. morethananelectrician / Jul 29 2008 12:02 pm

    Brilliant! And how funny! I have been stuck in places before and washed clothes with a bar of soap and hung them to dry or used the blow dryer and iron to dry stuff.

    Very creative thinking!

  9. fawnahareo / Jul 29 2008 9:46 am

    Ahhh, too funny! You have the best stories! Really, though, I don’t understand why people dress up in suits or fancy duds for airplane travel. I would consider you, in that outfit, much saner than the woman in the 3-inch stilettos across the way. Unless you’re going straight to a high-powered business meeting, comfy is the way to travel!

    Those heels make me shudder. Oh the pain!

  10. bluesuit12 / Jul 29 2008 7:23 am

    Holy Crap!! So as I was reading I saw the top part of the pic with the shirt but not the pants until I scrolled down. Let’s just say I had to clean off the partial chewed cookie from the wall (yes I’m eating cookies for breakfast) after it shot out of my mouth from laughing. That is the best ugliest outfit ever. I so wish I could have seen you walking in the airport wearing that. Priceless.

    I’ve been known to be pretty unfashionable at times…but even this was too much for me. I think it’s because the pants hurt my eyes.

  11. crisitunity / Jul 29 2008 7:03 am

    Good story – great pants. But I think I would have thrown out this t-shirt by now. And the answer is, they had frog pajama pants for passengers who got stuck in Houston without their luggage.

    Good point. I still have the shirt…it makes for good PJs.

  12. Ian / Jul 29 2008 5:20 am

    Awwwww! Lookit all the froggies!

    For some reason, my kids call farts “having a froggie,” so when I look at those pants, it makes me think of farts.

    This is what happens when I comment before 7 AM. LOL

That's what she said!

