Skip to content
July 8, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Movies of our Lives: A Movie Meme

There are about fifty things I ought to be doing right now instead of blogging, but I can’t help myself.  I stole this from Memoirs of a Teacher and decided it would be a good way to post without having to think too much.  And what Communist doesn’t like to read about movies, huh? 

Anyway, the following fourteen questions about movies must be answered with only one per category.  

1. One movie that made you laugh…
Little Miss Sunshine

Okay I laughed until it hurt many times throughout this movie.  But when Abigail Bresnan, looking straight out of an Amish spelling bee, broke out into that dirty dance at the end, I was pretty sure I was going to have a stroke from uncontrollable hysterics.

2. One movie that made you cry
The Pursuit of Happyness

Not many things make me happier than seeing the Charlie Browns of the world win it all.  And that is exactly what happened to this guy.  To make tissues even more drenched, it’s based on a true story.  I lost it at the end, when Mr. Good Guy Will Smith got the job over all the silver-spooners.  It probably didn’t help that I was watching this during a major bout of PMS, but holy crap, I can never watch this movie again because of the emotional toll it took. 

3. One movie you loved when you were a child
Flight of the Navigator
 

Being somewhat obsessed with the idea of time travel, this movie appealed to me on many levels.  And did you know that it was one of the first movies that Sarah Jessica Parker was in?  That’s right.  I loved this movie and I must never, ever go back and watch it as an adult, because I am sure that the awesome special effects I remember will, today, appear to be done with Claymation and strings. 

4. One movie you’ve seen more than once
Field of Dreams

I will watch Field of Dreams on DVD, on TBS, or AMC, or wherever it happens to pop up.  I don’t care if it’s halfway over, I will watch it anyway.  I still get chills every time the Doc shows up on the road as the Rookie.  I love this movie, it is perfect in every movie way.  Even though Kevin Costner is in it.

5. One movie you loved, but were embarrassed to admit it
The Karate Kid.

I wasn’t so embarrassed to admit it back then, because everyone thought it was cool.  I’m more embarrassed to admit it now.  However I have a soft spot for the Karate Kid.  We all know that if Daniel-san tried walking down a back alley, ran into some unsavory types, and tried using “The Crane,” he would totally get his ass kicked.  Or stabbed, or shot.  But again, I am a sucker for the underdog.  Plus, I really, really love old people.  And no one was older than Pat Morita.  I’m pretty sure most of my childhood was spent wishing 1) for my own personal Mr. Miyagi to show up and teach me the ways I could wax away the bad seeds in my elementary school and 2) to be a boy, because only boys ever got to be in movies like the Karate Kid.  Oh wait, didn’t they make a three-quel with a chick?  And didn’t it really suck? 

6. One movie you hated
Ravenous

Some friends had a movie night a while back, and this was about all that Blockbuster had.  Now I’m not sure what was worse about this movie…hungry cannibal albinos, the soundtrack, or the gory squishing sounds of eating people.  With absolutely no redeeming qualities, this movie gets three thumbs down.  I’m going to have to borrow one of yours.

7. One movie that scared you
Signs

Lots of people didn’t think this was scary, but I saw it opening night in a packed theater in Madison, WI (think cornfields!)  This movie gets the top scary spot because a week after I saw it, I was more freaked out about it than I was ten minutes after the first green alien stepped out from behind that building during the show.  Movies that disturb you long after they are over are the scariest of all.

8. One movie that bored you
There Will Be Blood

Good acting, blah blah, oil, blah, blah, Daniel Day Lewis, blah blah blah, struggles, the humanity, blah blah. 

9. One movie that made you happy
Love Actually.

I know all women are supposed to like “Rom-Coms” but I am very picky when it comes to this genre.  Plot and story is everything.  This movie ROCKED because it gave me a little hope for the future.  Not hope in the love department, but hope that “People Don’t Suck, Not Really, and Especially Not Around Christmastime.”  Though I do remove myself from the stereotype of: All Women Love Romantic Comedies, I do have to admit that I am in the stereotype of: All Women Love Colin Firth.

10. One movie that made you miserable
A History of Violence.

All I could think during this movie was “Is it over yet?  Will anyone notice if I leave the room?  How can I get these two hours back?”

11. One movie you weren’t brave enough to see
The Ring.

I can’t do scary movies because they stay in my OCD brain forever.  I have seen some though, but The Ring scared the pants off everyone I know so there was no way I was going to see it.  Ever.  And I don’t care if “it was really good” you will never, ever, ever, convince me to watch this.  I don’t even like to look at the DVD cover.  Eff you, Ring.  Whatever you are.

12. One movie character you have fallen in love with
Ben Wade, 3:10 to Yuma

Okay.  I love pioneer/Western era everything.  I love bad boys.  I love senses of humor.  Ben Wade covers these areas, plus he’s a crackshot, and he had a soft spot for his new one-legged friend, because when his posse killed ‘im, Ben turned around and shot every single dude in his own gang.  Ah, loyal to his friends, too.  What’s not to like?

13. The last movie you saw
Wanted

 

We got a rare Date Night last weekend, and this is all that looked good in the theater.  It was good.  Remember it’s based on a comic book so you do have to suspend reality to enjoy it.  I thought the concept was great and the movie was very clever, though a bit gory for my tastes.  That said, I enjoyed it a lot.

14. The next movie you hope to see
I pass.  I have no idea what is coming out.  I’m sure that I will be happy to see ANY movie, because it means that someone is babysitting. 

Thanks for reading.  Feel free to copy, and be sure to let me know, so I can read what movies you have in your head!

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. megan / Jul 23 2008 5:24 am

    I. Loved. Flight of the Navigator! That is definitely one of my all-time favorites! Actually, I agree with most of your answers, but so that I don’t seem like a copycat…

    1. One movie that made you laugh
    Return to Me

    2. One movie that made you cry
    What Dreams May Come

    3. One movie you loved when you were a child
    Labyrinth

    4. One movie you’ve seen more than once
    Mr. Mom

    5. One movie you loved, but were embarrassed to admit it
    Airheads

    6. One movie you hated
    The Messenger

    7. One movie that scared you
    Ju-on (the original Japanese version of The Grudge)

    8. One movie that bored you
    Anything by Werner Herzog

    9. One movie that made you happy
    Corrina, Corrina

    10. One movie that made you miserable
    Dancer in the Dark

    11. One movie you weren’t brave enough to see
    Saw II-IV

    12. One movie character you have fallen in love with
    Jake Ryan from Sixteen Candles

    13. The last movie you saw
    The Rage: Carrie 2

    14. The next movie you hope to see
    The Dark Knight

    What Dreams May Come had be crying a river too.

  2. Pammy Girl / Jul 15 2008 12:01 pm

    let’s see…

    1. The Dream Team. This movie was wet-your-pants hilarious!
    2. Whale Rider. That hiccup kind of crying, too.
    3. The Muppet Movie. Still brings back good memories.
    4. See my blog today (I worked in a video store during college… this list goes on and on)
    5. She’s the Man. I even made my brother go see it with me because I was embarrassed to go alone.
    6. No Country For Old Men. Oscar be damned. This movie also made me incredibly sick… very disturbing.
    7. House of Wax — the original. Of course I was about 7 at the time and haven’t seen it since.
    8. Lars and the Real Girl. I wanted to like this movie but I couldn’t get into it.
    9. Strictly Ballroom. No words can express the goofy expression I get on my face after seeing this movie. Sheer delight.
    10. No Country for Old Men. Again, not one of my favorites.
    11. After seeing No Country for Old Men, I couldn’t get up the nerve to see There Will Be Blood.
    12. Love, Actually. Billy — the guy who’s in love with his best friend’s wife. Broke my heart but I fall for it every time I see that movie. When will Billy enter my life???
    13. What Happens in Vegas
    14. The Dark Knight & Mama Mia

  3. Allison / Jul 12 2008 1:20 pm

    That final dance scene of Little Miss Sunshine was hilarious. I liked the whole movie…but even if I hadn’t like the rest, it would have been worth it for the end.

  4. pikespeakdenise / Jul 10 2008 5:19 pm

    I am not a communist, I blogged.

  5. kaylee2 / Jul 9 2008 10:36 pm

    Omg i love your blog and this meme 🙂

  6. cherikooka / Jul 9 2008 3:06 pm

    I am soooo stealing this Meme! Are you sure you don’t want to see Flight of the Navigator again? I can bring it with me. I think it’s just as good now as the first time I saw it.

  7. teachercarrieaz / Jul 9 2008 9:01 am

    I pretty much agree with all of your above. I loved loved loved Flight of the Navigator! Love Actually is a favorite of mine for sure too. Signs if my favorite M. Night movie. It still scares me on certain scenes even though I have seen it at least 10 times.

  8. crisitunity / Jul 9 2008 8:48 am

    3. I watched Flight of the Navigator a few weeks ago for the first time in fifteen years, and you know what? IT WAS STILL AWESOME. Watch it again, I doubt you’ll be disappointed.

    5. There are a lot of jokes in this culture that you can’t get without having seen The Karate Kid (I know because I haven’t seen it), so you shouldn’t be ashamed. And yes, there was a three-quel, and the girl was Hilary Swank. Seriously.

    11. I’m not going to try to convince you. I love scary movies, LOVE them, and this movie gave me the shivers even the third time through. If you don’t do scary, stay away!

    I think I’ll do this meme a little later today.

  9. Carli / Jul 9 2008 6:52 am

    You are….THE NAVIGATOR!!!!

That's what she said!

