Skip to content
July 2, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Sadie Dog 1991-2008

Today, Carli’s dog passed away.  Sadie was a fine dog, a fine Boston Terrier who was a best pal for many years.  And I’m talking many years; Sadie was born January 10, 1991.  Carli’s faithful dog was seventeen and a half, and according to a quick calculation in my head, that’s forty-seven thousand in dog years. 

 

Sadie in the backseat on a trip from Seattle to Montana

In her better days, Sadie enjoyed hiking, playing, romping, chomping, and running around the walls of rooms, somehow suspended in the air in a gravity-defying spin with her unbelievable energy. 

Sadie lived a full dog-life, traveled often, and made many friends.  Sadie was even Maid of Honor in Carli’s wedding (I was matron of honor due to my already married status…if I had been single I’m not sure who would have won the title of maid) and she did a fantastic job I might add. 

Sadie at the Hoaglan wedding, 8/20/2005

In recent months Sadie’s rear legs deteriorated and Carli made the tough but humane decision to let her friend go to the meadows that never turn brown, to where the streams and ponds are always full of fresh water, to where an adventure always lies just over the next hill. 

Sadie

I’m sorry you had to let your friend go, Carli.  My heart breaks for you. 

 

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Owlhaven / Jul 9 2008 9:00 pm

    What a sweet looking dog. Thanks for commenting over at my place!

    Mary, mom to many

  2. bookbabie / Jul 6 2008 7:55 am

    Sorry to hear of the loss. We lost our 15 year old dog Nikki this year, it was awful:(

  3. josepheulo / Jul 5 2008 10:56 pm

    I have two dogs, lost one when I was a kid, I feel your sadness. My heart goes out to you and yours.

  4. fawnahareo / Jul 3 2008 7:39 pm

    What a sweet and touching post. My condolences to Carli…

That's what she said!

