Skip to content
June 29, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

I Love My Red Cup

I cooked a lot this weekend, though it hit 95 degrees and the kitchen appliances being used did not exactly cool the place down.  The cooking plans all started when I got an overwhelming craving for the Vietnamese restaurant in Colorado Springs that I frequented.  I desperately wanted one of their grilled chicken noodle bowls.  So I ventured to the store and picked up some ingredients like rice stick noodles, mung bean sprouts, fish sauce and hot chili sauce.  I already had a gallon of Sriracha at home.  Then while I was there looking at all the delicious produce (summer makes me want to drown in a garden) I saw a package of gyoza wrappers already cut in circles.  I had to make gyoza (potstickers).  I make them maybe twice a year because they are a pain.  I love them so much though that I would make them even though the only wrappers I could find were square.  Well you just can’t make them with square (eggroll) wrappers so I would sit down and cut them into circles.  This took next to forever.  So this is why I was thrilled to find the round wrappers, and I started buying the ingredients for gyoza. 

Cilantro was on sale so I bought a bagful.  If I was to pass up on-sale cilantro and Wasband was to find out, I may be shunned for life.  The cilantro went onto the noodle bowls, some black-bean tacos, and then I decided to try making lime-cilantro rice.  That was a lot of cooking.  I was done.  Beat.  Ready to relax and dial Pizza Hut next time I got hungry.  Then I remembered that there is a Monday-night work function and I signed up to make pasta salad. 

Crap.

So I made my pasta salad.  That was more boiling and chopping and stirring.  Finally…could I be done cooking now?  All that cooking made me really thirsty.  Luckily my trusty red cup was there for me.

I don’t make it a habit to love material goods but I have to tell you, I love my red cup.  It’s not a cup at all, but is a glass, and I only use it for water and the occasionally homemade cherry Pepsi.   I got this cup at Target a couple of years ago.  It used to have a twin, but she broke in the dishwasher. 

I took a picture of my red cup because I love it so much.  I will be sad when this one goes.  It could meet a variety of fates:

  • Dishwasher crackage
  • Children “helpers”
  • Kitchen accident
  • Theft from someone who saw the cup on this blog, and decided they wanted it too

No matter what the cup’s fate is, I will enjoy it while it is here to hold my tasty beverages.  It’s made out of real glass.  I love that.  Those plastic or melamine crap cups always taste like chemical after a while.  This is okay if your taking shots of Tequila with them, but not water.  Water picks up the chemical taste.  So l love to find real glass glasses, which is getting difficult if you like colors other than “clear.”

Sometimes I go to the Goodwill or the Salvation Army to peruse their selection of glasses.  (If you like funky dishes/glasses, those are AWESOME places to shop.  I love, love, love mismatched EVERYTHING.)  I scored at the Goodwill a couple of years ago when I found the coolest brown/yellow tinted drink glasses and a great big brown bowl.  I never get to use the bowl, because my husband monopolizes it.  He likes it too.

And that is the story of my red cup. 

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Plalaycrymn / Aug 2 2008 6:23 pm

    Tahnks for posting

  2. romi41 / Jul 6 2008 6:33 pm

    You SO pimped up that red cup in your story, that I am not above finding out where you live just to steal it 😉

  3. Carli / Jul 1 2008 3:37 pm

    You know what I loved??? My Cabbage Patch calender. That is…until…you stamped the crap out of it.
    To all who are interested…read “Happy 30th, Dr. Carli” for the gory details and all of the torture I endured.
    🙂

    And for the love of Pete…..why do I continue to come up as a purple bug??

  4. cherikooka / Jul 1 2008 1:22 pm

    I am going to steal your cup.

  5. wpm1955 / Jul 1 2008 3:47 am

    I think it’s a good looking cup! I would like to use it too, if I had one like that.

    Madame Monet, in Marrakesh
    Writing, Painting, Music, and Wine
    winewriter.wordpress.com

  6. Allison / Jun 30 2008 5:40 pm

    I can see why you love it so!

    Was that the chalice Indiana Jones found at the end of one of his last (or 2nd to last) crusade?

That's what she said!

