Skip to content
June 10, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Eyegrains

Did I ever tell you about my first migraine?  I was on a plane that was about to land in Detroit when bam! a stabbing, ice-picklike somethin’ or other popped right in the middle of my forehead.  I passed out on the plane from the intense pain (I thought it must be my brain exploding) and woke up to a lovely blonde flight attendant holding oxygen to my face. 

I’ve had a couple migraines since then, but they’ve never been as bad as the first.  My migraines start with twinkles, magic-looking sparklies that hover off to one side.  It’s pretty annoying because I try to turn my head to look at them and they’re gone.  Since I get these headaches so rarely, it always takes me a bit to figure out that the “sparklies” are precursors to “ouchies.”

I’ve graduated from migraines to…eyegrains.  I’m not sure that’s a real word, but it ought to be.  These are real “headaches” that start in your eyeball.  It feels like a “headache” in your eye.  A dull, throbbing pain.  Tonight, my eyegrain is making me see a big, chartreuse spot in my right field of vision.  Everything I look at is topped with a big, chartreuse spot that’s shaped a little bit like Alaska.   

I really shouldn’t be on the computer at all, but I had to tell you about my eyegrain.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Talea / Jun 12 2008 6:17 am

    I get eyegrains too! For my whole life I’ve had them. Always behind my eyeballs and they get the worst when I stand up.
    I’ve often had horrendous visions of my eye exploding and dangling from my head in some sort of awfulness.

    I just thought I’d share that.

  2. steppingoverthejunk / Jun 11 2008 3:40 pm

    araugh. migranes are horrid. I started them when I was preggers. They make me nauseous. A few times I have felt them coming on more recently and if I guzzle water (even if I feel like I am going to throw it up) and eat something like peanut butter on a graham cracker, I can usually head it off. But then, it might be in my mind. Of course, if it works for me, I might as well keep doing it. Sorry you are going through that!

  3. cherikooka / Jun 11 2008 3:01 pm

    I hate migraines!!! Thank God for Excedrin Migraine!

  4. Dave / Jun 11 2008 5:34 am

    I get the same sparklies, though they’ve diminished in recent years. I’ve found that drinking water, getting up and walking around and taking an hour or two nap have all been effective. Those tricks don’t always work, though. For me, the annoying thing is that the sparklies start out really small and then grow out in a ring. Makes it hard to see what your doing. Once the ring passes out of my vision, I know the pain is about to start in earnest.

    I’ve also had the chartreuse blob, but not usually with pain. Just annoying that half the world is covered up.

That's what she said!

