Skip to content
May 23, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

‘When’ would you go?

Eileen recently posted about time travel possibilities/realities. 

Who hasn’t fantasized about time travel, at some point during their lives?  The concept is too much to resist.  To be able to jettison to another time, ala-The Time Machine, to see canyons forming and dinosaurs or space men with huge evolved bug eyes.  Or even go Back to the Future, DeLorian style, changing bad decisions in the nick of time, or just watching your parents or grandparents when they were young. 

Time travel is fun to think about.  Personally, I think that if it were possible, then we’d already have visitors from the future.  If time is infinite on both ends, I would have to guess that in the future, some American businessman would have convinced Congress to open time travel up to private industry.  Someone down the line would have started a successful Time Tour business.  Families would have gone to the 50’s instead of to Orlando.  And we here in The Now would already know about time travel, because either a) We’d be constantly seeing weird, iridescently-dressed future people walking around saying “Oh look Frank, a toaster” or b) Biff would have stolen the plans from the businessman and we’d have been able to invent it sooner. 

But lots of people negate this theory, because if future-people have already invented time travel, they’d also be smart enough to invent a way to prevent us from seeing them.  Ha!  That would mean that people get smarter as a culture and I can’t buy that.  Sure, we as a human race have made lots of advances, but I can’t see us getting SO smart that all eighty billion of us would say “That’s not the right choice.  Sure, we’d make quadtrillions in the first quarter, but it’s wrong for us to spring our ideas on all people for all time.”

Simplistic I suppose.  Hey, did I say I was Stephen Hawking?

 

 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Timeship / Jun 23 2008 9:10 pm

    Time travel possibilities/probabilities… I spend my whole life writing about it. Come aboard my Timeship and let’s talk about it. THX

  2. elementaryteacher / May 23 2008 10:51 pm

    I would probably travel back in time for the purpose of meeting some famous people that always impressed me(not sure who at this moment).

    Actually, I once read that some historians thought that a lot of historical ambiguities could be cleared up if time travel became possible. It would be possible to travel back to a particular time to check if the way it’s come down to us through historical records is really accurate!

    Thanks for mentioning me in your post.

    Best regards,
    Eileen
    Dedicated Elementary Teacher Overseas
    elementaryteacher.wordpress.com

  3. Ian Thomas Healy / May 23 2008 12:28 pm

    I think I’d go back to when I was in high school and kick my own ass a little about the choices I made. Yes, I know that would alter my own timeline and either (a) create a perpetual paradox and closed cycle, (b) implode the Universe, or (c) do nothing at all.

    But still, I could have majored in something worthwhile. I could have not given up on that one girl. I could have saved money instead of gone into debt. Coulda shoulda woulda.

    Ian

That's what she said!

