Skip to content
May 21, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Commercials sometimes feature dancing

I don’t know many people who enjoy commercials.  Sure, now and then there are some marketing gems (think the CareerBuilder monkeys).  Yesterday I saw a commercial that I really enjoyed: 

It’s a feel-good sort of commercial, and it’s selling the Discovery Channel to you.  It was also playing on the Discovery Channel, so you only saw it if you were already watching the item it was pushing, which means it can’t really be considered unwanted.  You can’t complain about a commercial like that.

I officially despise iTunes/iPod commercials.  I have yet to see someone wearing an iPod dance flail around, like the iPod wearers do in the acid-tripping spots, and I’m always disappointed to see which bands are stepping up to market for Apple.  I don’t know why I have the unrealistic expectation that iPod marketing should be less flashy, but I guess their campaign is working…I see iPods everywhere.  Maybe it’s the fact that I have always felt embarrassed for people on television and in movies who spontaneously break into song and dance.  I became acutely aware of this embarrassment when I was young.  One night I was “sneaking HBO” and there was a movie called “Breakin’ 2: Electric Boogaloo.”  I am not kidding…somewhere in someone’s dusty VHS collection, this tape exists.  There was a scene where a large group of dancers choreo’d themselves down some steps in an urban area.  I was like, “Hey, this sucks…there’s no way all those people would have showed up dressed in coordinating colors, let alone know all the words to the same song!”  This was obviously before I learned the adult trait of suspending reality for temporary entertainment. 

Lots of us will agree that the absolute worse commercials are those made by the ‘tards in the marketing departments of pharmaceutical companies.  They, and only they, seem to think it’s perfectly okay to use phrases such as “explosive diarrhea” and “four hour erection” and “some users experience death” in their advertisements.  The rest of the world does not allow pharmaceutical commercials to be played…they all seem to have the common sense that people shouldn’t constantly be brainwashed into believing they have an acronym.  I hate these commercials not only for the social irresponsibility, but also because the “doctors” in them are so bad.  Worse than the doctors is the poor acting from the “afflicted.”  I hate the fact that these actors are reduced to complaning about their enlarged prostates or their fibromyalgia or their itchy freakin’ legs…I want to say but you’re an actor!  You don’t have itchy legs!

I guess I need to keep working on suspending reality.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. elementaryteacher / May 23 2008 11:00 pm

    I thought the Discovery commercial was interesting, but didn’t see until the last moment what they were advertising (I hadn’t read your text yet).

    I found your description of pharmaceutical commercials interesting. I moved from America in 1993 and had never seen one at that time (other than for Excedrin, Tylenol, or cold and cough medicines like Nyquil). It sounds like they’ve gone way beyond the boundaries of good taste now!

    Eileen
    Dedicated Elementary Teacher Overseas
    elementaryteacher.wordpress.com

That's what she said!

