Skip to content
April 16, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Greenhouse

I bought myself a greenhouse, what with this being the year of living dangerously and all.  Greenhouses are not just for old people.  Or perhaps I am becoming old people.  Either way, I am so excited about this that I may barely be able to contain myself during the 2-4 weeks that it will take to ship!  It’s a good sized 8’6″ x 20′ 9″ greenhouse.  One thing that I really missed living in Colorado was gardening.  I am NOT a gardener by nature.  I do not have houseplants, because I will kill them.  I like to grow food though, that is one thing that I can do okay.  I am hoping that this endeavor will really help me hone my skills in this department.  If not, then I will have a really big building to store snow tires and lawnmowers in.  Ha!

I couldn’t grow anything at 9200 feet in Colorado.  It was too high, too cold, too windy, and the dirt was basically decomposed granite.  I have big plans…BIG PLANS for this summer and I will document their success (or catastrophic failure) here from time to time. 

The greenhouse will mainly be a home for delicate tomatoes and some peppers.  These are hard to grow in the unpredictable weather in Montana.  I plan to try a couple of types of eggplant.  Wasband made me promise to try some cilantro.  And I’ll attempt basil and chives.  The greenhouse will be a great way to start plants early before transplanting them out into the big gardens.  The hardier stuff…potatoes, corn, carrots and onions…those go right into the garden.  It’s been known to freeze at night even in June some years, so this greenhouse will be really SUPER for the more delicate plants.  

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Eileen / May 3 2008 11:54 am

    Are you living in South Park? (I’m asking since I was from Colorado myself.)

    Eileen
    Dedicated Elementary Teacher Overseas (in the Middle East)
    elementaryteacher.wordpress.com

  2. Christine / Apr 18 2008 10:25 am

    GASP! I want a greenhouse!!

  3. pikespeakdenise / Apr 17 2008 5:41 am

    That will be very nice! Isabella says you should grow some flowers, too. Patty has had great luck with herbs in hers. As well as tomatoes, peppers, lettuce, etc. Have a good time!

  4. valwebb / Apr 16 2008 11:44 pm

    Oh! Gorgeous greenhouse. I’m instantly envious, and also looking forward to reading about your gardening adventures. You have a very entertaining blog…

Trackbacks

  1. Summer, Cotton Candy, and Tomatoes «

That's what she said!

