Skip to content
March 29, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Born in the Wrong Era, and other unfortunate circumstances

I realized a long time ago that it’s very easy for me to lose any contentedness that I might have about something.  I’d like to think that it’s a problem everyone has; easy to find something to be unsettled about, hard to be content with everything that is right in front of you.  I think lots of people will say they are content, especially if you ask them “are you content with your life?”  If you stop to think about it, you are probably content with your life.  It’s other times, when you just want a shower curtain that doesn’t stick together, or when you wonder what would have happened had you majored in archaeology instead of accounting, or when you wonder what would have happened if you would have gone to college at all…those are the times when little mites of discontent eat at a person. 

If you ask me “are you content with your life,” I will say yes.  And for the most part, it’s true.  My problem is definitely not sitting around harping about the changeable things in my life.  If I want to change something, I change it!  It’s the things I cannot change that keep me up at night. 

For example…sometimes I wish that I was born in a different time period.  I didn’t get to see the invention of the television set, and I think that would have been an amazing thing to experience.  Especially as a kid.  Imagine the brain-jumble that your young mind would have gone through if your Pa brought a magic box home one day, and you turned it on, and there were flat gray people in there.  Wow.  You wouldn’t have been able to stop talking about it. 

Or what about the invention of the airplane?  All those times you ran around pretending to be able to fly, and then one day, you could.  Sheesh.  How amazing would that have been to see. 

Also, I really envy people who got to grow up in the 1960’s.  Perhaps it wasn’t all that great from their perspective, but the 1960’s were such an amazing time in America and their was great music and tumultuous history and cool clothing to boot. 

I would have really liked to have been one of the first people to see the mountains in our national parks.  When you go to a national park, they always have these black and white or sepia-toned photographs in the lodges that show adventurous 1920’s folk climbing a mountain in a petticoat or a suit and tie.  They got to miss the long lines of traffic and the shuttle buses and the really expensive hotel rooms.  They didn’t know how good they had it.  Or maybe they did, because they sure have big smiles in the photographs.

So what’s up with that?  I’m happy with everything but sometimes it really grates on me that my youth is being spent in decades-long periods of housing overdevelopment, cheap crap from China, and increasing poverty in the world.  What’s so great about that? 

A better optimist might say, “Hey, Maleesha…this is a great time to live in the world!  Look at the pharmaceuticals that we’re making!  We’re curing diseases all the time!  And look at the technology we have!  You can talk with people across the world with the click of a button for pennies a day!”  Sure…but call me skeptical.  Those same pharmaceuticals are being excreted into our water supplies…and who knows what that’s causing.  Perhaps the little bits of various drugs that we’re forced to unwillingly consume that will end up being the cause of the increasing autism, allergies and mental illness in the world.  Maybe it’s what’s killing off the bees. 

As far as technology, I will be the first to tell you I love it, but can’t we all agree that there’s so little mystery left in the world?  I never have to dream about what traveling to the Serengeti would be like, because I can Google it and in half an hour, I will know everything I need to know about the Serengeti.  The mystery is gone.  Perhaps this is why G.W. is hell bent on touring Mars.  He’s an explorer, too.   

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. cherikooka / Mar 31 2008 3:21 pm

    I haven’t been born yet.

  2. wpm1955 / Mar 30 2008 4:34 pm

    Have you ever considered reincarnation? I personally believe in it, and think an interest in certain time periods can be a clue to your own past.

    Madame Monet
    Writing, Painting, Music, and Wine
    winewriter.wordpress.com

  3. pikespeakdenise / Mar 30 2008 8:12 am

    They’re gonna have to change that whole Blue’s Clues song.

  4. maleesha / Mar 30 2008 7:35 am

    Sigh. This is what happens when you have a baby at home. You miss the exciting news of extrasolar planets…

  5. Christine / Mar 29 2008 8:39 pm

    I also want to witness the 60’s, but I’d settle for being a pioneer.

  6. Ian Thomas Healy / Mar 29 2008 7:52 pm

    Mars?

    Old news, babe. Extrasolar planets is where it’s at now.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extrasolar_planets

    Ian

That's what she said!

