Skip to content
March 28, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Do Not Call

If you know me, you know that I hate the telephone.  I have what you might call a phone-phobia.  I never have a problem talking to people in person, but the phone rings and I positively cringe*.  If I had to choose (and I often do) I would talk to everyone via e-mail or text.  I think everyone should be online all the time.  Such is the life of one in the computer field, I suppose.  If I had to choose, I would communicate with these methods, in order of preference:

  1. E-mail
  2. Text message
  3. U.S. Mail
  4. Secret decoder rings sent by private courier service
  5. Smoke signals
  6. Telephone

Since we’ve moved to Bozeman, we keep getting these late night phone calls.  Of course it’s no one we know…it’s telemarketers, survey automatons, and people who need money for apparently no good reason at all.  Then it dawned on me…I didn’t put us on the Do Not Call list yet!

This action should have been on my “To Do” list…an Excel spreadsheet I created to make sure we didn’t forget anything during our superfast out of state move.  I guess if you forget to put something on a list designed to help you not forget…well, what can you do about that?

I went to www.donotcall.gov a few minutes ago and registered our new phone number.  It takes a couple of weeks to kick in.  If I would have remembered to do this a week ago, then I’d only have one week left to cringe every time the phone rings.  Now I have two.  But I do remember the special button that one can press on the phone to fix all of it…the ringer’s off position. 

*There are a couple of people who I can talk to on the phone easily, for some reason.  The first is Carli, who if I didn’t talk to by phone, I’d never talk to at all.  The second is Lisa, who for some reason I can talk to her on the phone with no problem.  Lisa’s really all about getting to the point, though…no dilly-dally chit chat with her.  Maybe that’s why.  Small talk on the phone gives me the oogies.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Allison / Mar 31 2008 5:25 am

    We switched phone companies last summer, and therefore phone numbers and I was in agony until our new phone number hit the “do not call” list. We don’t have caller id with the new phone service and we were waiting to have a couple of things installed, so we were afraid not to answer the phone. I couldn’t believe how quickly the telemarketers latched onto a new “okay to call” phone number.

  2. cherikooka / Mar 30 2008 11:58 am

    I’m callin!

  3. pikespeakdenise / Mar 29 2008 6:28 am

    Ooh, how much do you think that private courier service for the secret decoder rings runs?!

That's what she said!

