Skip to content
March 26, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Pizza Delivery

It’s probably not a big deal to the vast majority of you out there, but I have to say we ordered pizza last night and it came right to the door.  Amazing. 

We moved (very spur of the moment, by the way, for a move with two kids) from Divide, Colorado.  Divide was a great place to live, if you are going to live near Colorado Springs.  We liked the idyllic outdoor setting, the rural expansiveness, the huge pine trees, the Pikes Peak views.  Colorado Springs was getting too big for both of us and we decided we should raise the nuggets in a less populated place.  There were many factors that played into the timing of the move so we did it.  And we had pizza last night, delivered right to the door.

See, when you move to a rural area you give up such luxuries.  Instead of pizza and a movie, you sit on the porch and shoot ground squirrels.  When you call a place and ask if they deliver to Divide, it’s hard to understand the answer through all of the laughter on the other end.  Instead of a backyard barbeque, you have a fire pit in your yard.  Shoveling snow requires a plow of some type, preferably one with lots of horsepower.  Checking the mail often requires a vehicle.  But I didn’t realize how much I missed the convenience of delivery services!  I am going to see if I can get Chinese delivered tonight. 

I am also thrilled to be in a neighborhood with tons of kids running around.  Some of the strange things we are getting used to: the sound of car doors slamming, the street lights, the frequent neighbors talking and laughing on the porch.  The trash truck is strange.  I got stuck behind a street sweeper.  I can’t remember the last time I saw a street sweeper.  I’m excited about my < two mile commute.  Wasband is excited to be within an hour’s drive of five major mountain ranges.  AJ is excited about the park down the street.  Macy is excited…well, she’s excited to eat and poop and that’s about it, but we assume she will like the park soon.  AJ’s new preschool is amazing…it has “Nigerian dwarf goats, chickens, a woodworking shop for kids, and the most beautiful setting one could imagine for a preschool.  Yet it’s just down the road from us. 

So I guess you could say our new town is not too big, not too small…but just riiiiiiight. 

Hopefully this means we are done moving.  I’m ready to stay put for a while.  I think. 

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Allison / Mar 31 2008 5:23 am

    I visited Bozeman in May of 1997 as part a college mission trip to work on a homeless shelter with several students from MSU. I remember hiking up a mountain to a letter “M”. I really liked it there, except that I kept getting nose bleeds from the dry air.

  2. cherikooka / Mar 26 2008 6:51 pm

    Wow…delivery. That would be nice.

  3. maleesha / Mar 26 2008 11:57 am

    Not Butte…I did grow up in Butte though. Bozeman! I will be back for the conference!

  4. Ian Thomas Healy / Mar 26 2008 7:42 am

    Towns grow, I suppose. When I first moved to where I live now, we were the fifth family in the neighborhood. There were no cable lines in the area so we HAD to get satellite if we wanted to watch hockey. There was no pizza delivery out here either.

    We still have satellite, and almost never order pizza (delivered pizza is really nasty after you’re used to not having it).

    So why Butte, of all places? I knew you quit your job and might be moving, but wow. Are you coming back for the conference next month?

    Ian

Trackbacks

  1. Pizza Delivery

That's what she said!

