Skip to content
February 13, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Valentine’s Cards

My son is only three, but he still “has to” bring little Valentine cards to his preschool tomorrow.  So we filled some out tonight.  He picked out a “Pixar” themed pack of cards, so his wee little classmates will be getting cards with Toy Story, Cars, and the Incredibles on them.  He wrote his name on each one, often in the wrong spot…so we went through twenty-three cards to get eleven good ones that will be taken to his class tomorrow.  He is also in charge of bringing carrots and ranch dip for the Valentine party they are having.  Sheesh.  Only three and my son is already a Valentine’s Day kind of guy.  He learned at school that Valentine’s Day is “hearts and flowers” and he keeps reminding me about it. 

Thankfully we didn’t have to make a shoe box this year.  I’m sure that is coming soon.  You know, the shoe box?  From elementary school?  Who knows if they still do it.  We sure did, back in the day.  My class always had to decorate a shoe box (usually we remembered to do this the night before, sending mom one step closer to the looney bin by reminding her that we needed a box tomorrow, as we brushed our teeth for bed) with pink and red and candy hearts, and cut a little slit in the top.  This was so our classmates could stuff a Valentine inside. 

We kids were told multiple times that we “better bring enough Valentines cards for everyone, or else.”  This part was the worst.  The dread of wondering if the cute kid in the third row was going to give you a really good card, you know, one that said “You’re the best!” instead of the lame card that said “Totally rad!” or “Friend Time.”  On top of the stress of waiting, trying to pick out appropriate cards for classmates was also rough.  Which card to give the cute kid in the third row?  (I’m almost certain that only girls thought about this) 

Or more challenging, which card to give the smelly kid in the back who frequently pooped his pants?  You didn’t want to give the wrong idea.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. pikespeakdenise / Feb 19 2008 5:48 pm

    I was happy that both my kids were old enough this V-day to undertake the valentines on their own. But it’s a good thing I did a quick count afterwards, as Isabella SKIPPED a kid. She could have been expelled.

  2. Lisa / Feb 14 2008 8:32 pm

    I totally had to make brownies for T’s toddler daycare room!!!! I thought I had another year at least before dealing with this! I feel ya sista.

  3. cherikooka / Feb 14 2008 4:57 pm

    I used to LOVE the shoebox. I want to make one just for the hell of it. Call me if AJ or Macy has to make one, and I will come and help them!

  4. Allison / Feb 13 2008 7:34 pm

    Oh, how relieved I am that my daughter didn’t have to do the shoebox and card bit for tomorow…don’t know how they missed that one.

    We always stitched construction paper together with yarn for our holder…mine was always red, pink and white. No purple!

That's what she said!

