Skip to content
January 30, 2008 / Maleesha Kovnesky

So this is what it’s like…

…to have two children.

 I’m really in awe of those people that show up on Discovery Health channel, you know, the people that have quintuplets and triplets two years apart.  Their houses must instantly become tornado-stricken, spit-covered diaper bins.  I have no idea how they do it.  Maybe if you carry more than one child in there, some hormone kicks in that delivers extreme patience to the mother.  Or possibly these parents begin to experiment with hard drugs.  Either way, our house looks like it’s been ransacked with Munchkins, and the dishes are piling up next to the laundry.  AJ even pointed out that the stack of laundry on the couch “looks like Pikes Peak” as he started to climb it.  And Macy doesn’t even sit up yet.

Well of course we all know babies like to wake up seventy-eleven times per night and eat three drops of milk and then immediately doze off into a peaceful three minute nap, which allows Mom and Dad to juuuuuuust fall back to sleep, and that is the point baby screams again.  So two nights ago, we awoke to hungry baby at the same instant AJ got sick on the other side of the house.  Screams and wails floated from both ends of the house and met in the middle…it was a medley I like to call “So You Have Two Kids Now.”  I started laughing.  Wasband looked at me very seriously and said “That’s it, I’m leaving.”  He’s still here, but that may be because he’s too tired to escape. 

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. cherikooka / Jan 31 2008 5:27 pm

    I would be happy to come over this weekend and be your maid for the day, but only if you let me play with the kids! Also, when you are ready to go out on a date with your husband, my husband and I want to babysit for you. I looooooove your kids!

  2. maleesha / Jan 30 2008 9:08 pm

    no need for sympathy…I’s a self-acknowledged wimp in this department!!

  3. Ian Thomas Healy / Jan 30 2008 7:48 pm

    You want sympathy? 😉

    I got three kids. At least you’re not outnumbered. If each of mine runs in a different direction, I have to pick which one to let get away.

    Ian

  4. Christine / Jan 30 2008 7:08 pm

    heh heh

    I think I told you before that my mom did daycare when I was growing up. Like 15-20 kids average, and all different sizes.

    I think the key is troughs.

    My mom told me that I wanted to put my new brother out with the garbage and to take him back to the hostibital.

    But seriously, I think it’s pretty cool that you have a climbable stack of soft goodness on your couch. Maybe I’ll come over and play with AJ. Especially if you’ll turn the couch around to face the wall so it’s more like a fort. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. So this is what it’s like… | Discovery Health Channel

That's what she said!

