Skip to content
October 14, 2007 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Movies from Childhood

I don’t know why this happened, but occasionally things pop into my head for no reason.  I’m sure it happens to you, too.  Tonight, an image from Flight of the Navigator appeared in my mind.  It got me thinking about movies from my childhood.

Flight of the Navigator

If you can’t recall this gem, it had a very young Sarah Jessica Parker in it, alongside a shape-shifting alien craft piloted by “Max”, if I remember correctly.  The Navigator is a young boy who gets visited by the ship, then gets taken and probed by NASA, and finally escapes by climbing into the big, silver floating entity.  This movie was one of my favorites.

The Earthling

I have only met one other person who has seen this movie, or at least remembers it.  It’s not that The Earthling is a favorite of mine…quite the opposite.  It does need a mention here because it is a movie that has shaped my life.  To be specific, I am certain that this movie is the foundation of my fear of being in a vehicle on a cliffy road or highway.  In The Earthling, Ricky Schroeder (who was just a wee lad) witnesses his parent’s motorhome plummet off a really freaking high cliff during a vacation in Australia.  Bummer: his parents were inside when it happened.  Poor Ricky is stranded in Australia!  Luckily, this rugged dude is wandering about the Outback and finds Ricky, and helps him.  I’m not really sure what happened next or how it ended, because I was too busy obsessing over the plummeting motorhome scene. 

The Watcher in the Woods

This is one of those movies that scared the pants off of you as a child…then later you rented it and thought, “this is totally lame.”  Think dark scenes, faces in mirrors, solar eclipses, backwards writing, lots of rain…and that pretty much entails this movie.  However, I recall being extremely frightened at the movie, and it was a long time before I could look in a mirror again. 

There are more movies to be listed, to be sure.  For now though, I will let you run out to your video store and rent these fine masterpieces.  Oh, and if you have seen The Earthling and remember the motorhome scene, do leave a comment.  I have waited years to hear from you.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. wpm1955 / Oct 16 2007 10:16 pm

    As a science fiction fan, I don’t know where I was when these movies came out, as I’ve never heard of any of them! I was living in America until 1993, so are some of them more recent than that?

    Madame Monet, from the Middle East
    winewriter.wordpress.com

  2. cherikooka / Oct 14 2007 10:12 pm

    I LOVE Flight of the Navigator! Oddly, I don’t have it. I’ve never seen The Earthling…at least I don’t think I have.

That's what she said!

