Skip to content
June 19, 2007 / Maleesha Kovnesky

My parking space is more important than your parking space.

Not really. 

I’m a pretty considerate parker, if you will.  When I happen upon a parking spot at the same time as an oncoming car does, I usually let the other person have it (unless it’s a cotton-candy haired teenager…they can walk).  I don’t mind walking across the parking lot.  I sit in a chair all day for work, so I probably should go out of my way to park twenty blocks away to get the exercise.

There is one parking phenomenon that I keep seeing more and more, and I don’t understand it, and it drives me nuts (I apologize if you are one of the people I am about to describe…if you are, kindly write to me and explain what the hell is wrong with you).

The phenomenon is this:  In a parking lot/garage, someone is trying to park their car.  There is a line of anywhere between three to seven cars behind them, whose drivers are also trying to park their car.  The person in front sees a spot.  Expecting them to pull into the prime parking spot (finally!  Thank goodness, they were driving so darn slow), instead, I see the white reverse lights. 

They are going to back in.

Depending on the skill of the parker, this backing in can be a minor annoyance, or a full-on road rage inducer.  Often, it’s a lady who can’t drive worth a darn, and now, she is about to perform a seven-point turn in order to back up into this spot.  The line behind her grows.  Take your time.  Really.  I’m certain you have a really good reason to back your Camry into the space.  I bet it’s really freaking vital that you save the 1.2 seconds it would have taken you to back out of the spot later.  This way, you can zoom right out!  Don’t worry about the rest of us, you know, the fifteen cars behind you.  Sure, we’re all trying to park too…but we can wait!  No problem.  We all love to wait.  For you

My friend Hersh used to look for a “pull through” spot.  That’s a parking space where no car is on the other side of the row, so you can “pull through” and presto!  You are now facing the aisle, without having to inconvenience anyone else.  I suggest that people who feel the need to back in (with a line of people behind them) kindly look for “pull through” spots instead. 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. dvrobin / Jun 25 2007 2:46 am

    I found this site a while back. What you describe is called fancy parking. Annoying when the little old lady is trying to do it, but kinda cool otherwise.

    http://www.fancyparking.com/

  2. Cherikooka / Jun 21 2007 5:05 pm

    I feel it, I really do.

  3. Ian / Jun 20 2007 2:07 am

    For some reason my brain just hung on an episode of The Jetsons where they’re testing out new “cars” (you know, the flying kind we’re supposed to have by now but don’t?). What I remember is the one that has lasers on either side so you can dissolve the cars on each side of you, giving you plenty of room to park.

    I wish I had that.

    Ian

That's what she said!

