Skip to content
March 26, 2007 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Not Our Best, but Good (Extra)

While we’re on the subject of Mr. Clean’s Magic Eraser, I thought I would take the time to rant about a certain ridiculousness that we all have experienced at one time of another. The ridiculousness is that of the “extra.”

My first contact with extra was back in the late 80’s, when I last used hairspray. When a girl shopped for hairspray at the drugstore, she was confronted with a plethora of choices. And I am just talking about AquaNet. If a girl wanted, she could purchase an aerosol can of “regular hold.” But if she looked a little to the right, there next to the ordinary hairspray stood cans of “extra hold.” 

Extra Super Hold.

Why in the world would she settle for regular when she might get extra?  Continuing down the aisle, her confusion of what to choose would be further mucked up due to cans of super and maximum.  Oh, the temptation!

Earlier this afternoon, I was confronted with the extra again.  Mr. Clean has multiple types of the Magic Eraser to confound consumers with stupid choices. 

GoodBetter

A person can choose between the Original Magic Eraser, or the one with Extra Power.

I just want to know why.  Who says to themself, “You know, I think I’ll just sort of clean today.  Later on, when I feel like really cleaning, actually getting that deep down dirt, then I’ll come back for the one with Extra Power.”  Or, “I really want my big, scary, 80’s hairdo to just sort of stay elevated today.  If Chip Rogers was coming to the dance, I’d go for Ultimate Hold, but since he has detention, screw it.  I’m getting Regular.”

I just think that if a company is going to make something better, then they should just make it better.  Why keep selling the half-assed products?  If they do, they ought to make it clear.  We Americans have way too many choices as it is.  So when it comes to shopping, we’d all save time if labels were more direct. 

The Mr. Clean Half-Ass Magic Eraser. 

Motto: It might clean your shower, but not nearly as well as the one with Extra Power would.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. pikespeakdenise / Apr 2 2007 12:36 pm

    Ha! Marketing schemes at their best.

That's what she said!

