Skip to content
March 1, 2007 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Little Pieces

I consider myself to be a sharp cookie.  Maybe not the high end cookie like your atom-smashers and your neurosurgeons; but many rungs above, say, carnies. 

For all the things I have read about or learned in life, its still the very small things that consistently knock me off my feet.  I’m sitting here in the east coast time zone and I clicked on my “personalized Google portal,” on which I have a webcam that is linked back home to the mountain time zone.  While it’s dark where I am, there’s still daylight in Colorado–I can see the snow, the trees, and the shadows.  I’m fascinated and excited to the bone about this completely expected and normal event!  It’s as if someone is telling me for the first time “Guess what?  The earth orbits the sun.  That’s where night comes from!”

I like learning about new things.  Every time I read about a new species that was discovered, or about how a new technique could possible help paralyzed people walk again, I get giddy.  But then I realize that I am not excited just because of the new discovery.  I am excited about the fact it means that there are still things in the world to discover.  There are still little pieces of the puzzle out there. 

There is a comfort to having knowledge. 

There is a downright adrenaline rush to remembering that not one of us will ever know it all.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. pikespeakdenise / Mar 6 2007 1:56 pm

    I must be just one rung above the carnies. I NEED you to post a MS bulletin or something when you blog over here. Please…pretty please?!

That's what she said!

