Skip to content
December 12, 2006 / Maleesha Kovnesky

I Dream of Underground Tunnels

I am still weirded out from this dream I had three nights ago.  It was strange.  It woke me up at 3 AM and I wasn’t able to get back to sleep. 

In the dream I was checking out of the military, and I was running around searching for the place where all the outprocessing was going to be.  I think this was supposed to be Washington, DC.  I found it accidentally by going down the stairs of some industrial-looking building.  There were lots of tables set up with people milling around, apparently all getting ready to check out, too.  It was in a really long hallway.

 So I finally reach the front of the line in the dream and my name is not on the list.  Well, it is but it took a minute to find it because it was listed under my old name (I hate the word maiden name…I mean, who says maiden anymore?  Gross.) .  So they give me a piece of paper and tell me to go get my numbers off the board. 

Numbers?

I turn around and there is this massive whiteboard and lots of people standing around it writing numbers down.  About halfway down I see my name, followed by a long string of numbers.  I had more numbers than most people.  Some were letter-number combinations.  It looked like this:

SGT MALEESHA KOVNESKY – 3L, 6B, 14, 2oF, G17….and so on.

I went back to the table to ask what the heck was I supposed to do with these numbers.  They informed me that those were the directions that I needed to follow to get back to Colorado.  The numbers were the names of the tunnels that I needed to follow.  So I had to start off with 3L, then when I ran into 6B I needed to follow that, etc.  I had to walk underground all the way across the country.  In this wacko dream, there is a series of interconnecting tunnels underneath all of America (think massive subway system).  Then they informed me that the tunnels were reachable above ground by finding special doors in shopping malls, airports, and warehouses.  Whenever a tunnel connected, a city was aboveground. 

I was a little surprised to hear that I had to walk underground all the way home.  I mean, wouldn’t that take a while?  The lady doing my paperwork chuckled and informed me that yes, it could take up to six months to make it that far in the tunnel system.

Then I woke up.  I had an oogy feeling…at 3 AM I found myself wondering Are there tunnels underneath the whole country? 

*Shudder*

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. cherikooka / Dec 15 2006 12:11 am

    That would make a great short story!

That's what she said!

