Skip to content
April 1, 2002 / Maleesha Kovnesky

Bullet Train

Now I am on a “bullet train” speeding through the French Alps. How freaking cool is that? Maybe not, but I am sure excited about it. I wish I had some of those grapes I bought yesterday. The fruit stands around here are so awesome. Much more appealing than the produce section at Food Lion, anyway. This scenery is great, and I nabbed a window seat. Four hours from now we should be in Milan. There are warnings against Americans traveling in Italy at the moment, so we aren’t going to stay in Milan but to catch a bus to Florence.

Florence was great – I would like to go back and spend more time there. We went to a leather shop where they make Italian leather (duh) and it smelled great. The downside was, it was EXPENSIVE. I saw so much that would have made great gifts for people back home, but there is something about a $200 wallet that just doesn’t agree with my wallet. We only stayed a night here. It is really pretty – went to the church were Michaelangelo and Galileo (and a slew of other great people of history) are buried. This is where the Renaissance started. I am having a lot of fun.

That's what she said!

